What’s In Your Bag?

Your makeup bag, that is.  As a general rule, I consider myself to be relatively low-maintenance.  That consideration comes from how I would prefer to be viewed rather than from any hard fact (though I have been told that I am low-maintenance, at least getting ready wise 😉 ) I do, however, wear eye makeup every single day (well, sometimes I don’t on the weekends and might not if I am running very late).  On days that I do forego eye makeup, my co-worker and good friend always comments that I “look tired.”  Nope, I just didn’t put on any eye makeup, ha. 

makeupbag (2)

My makeup bag, which was part of my maid of honor gift from my bestie Christina. 🙂

I’m definitely a creature of habit.  When I find something I like, I stick with it.  I tend to order the same things at restaurants and wear the same jewelry every day.  The same can be said for my makeup “look.”  I wear the same makeup every day, unless it is a very special occasion (like, say, getting married) or I need a little extra coverage because my skin is misbehaving.

My morning getting ready routine takes me around ten minutes if I showered the night before; 25 if not and 35 if I want to get fancy and actually blow dry my hair.  After putting moisturizer on my face, I break out the following arsenal:

contents (2)

  1. Maybelline eyelash curler- Using an eyelash curler is a really easy tool to “wake up” your eyes. 
  2. MAC makeup brush- I use this to put on undereye concealer
  3. bareMinerals “Well-Rested” undereye concealer-this concealer is a fairly new purchase.  I like it a lot and definitely recommend it- it works a lot better than any liquid concealer I’ve tried!
  4. Estee Lauder kohl eyeliner in black-I think I received this in the Estee Lauder free gift with purchase bag.  It is a simple, straightforward liner that blends easily.
  5. Urban Decay eyeshadow in Midnight CowgirlI like this eyeshadow a lot.  The only downside is that it is very shimmery and can the shimmer migrates to areas other than your eyelid.
  6. DiorShow mascara in Blackthis mascara is AMAZING.  I read about it on Veronika’s blog and decided to give it a shot.  I’ve never looked back!  My eyelashes are fairly short and this mascara makes them look awesome!
  7. Nars highlighting/bronzing blush duo in Laguna and Org*smI’ve been wearing this combo since 2004.  I think it is universally flattering!
  8. Clinique blush brush

contents open (2)

The urban decay eye shadow is a really pretty goldish color.  Up until a few months ago, I had been wearing a shimmery lilac-grey color on my lids for YEARS (it is supposed to bring out green eyes).  I had to switch the colors up when the lilac color was discontinued.  Sad face. Anyway.  My routine starts with a quick curl of each eyelash (super fast but essential) and then sweeping the bareMinerals powder concealer underneath my eyes with a makeup brush.  I really like using the powder as opposed to a cream because I am no longer tugging at my eyes with my fingers 🙂  Then comes black liner (smudged and applied with a light hand) on both my top and bottom lids, followed by a bit of eyeshadow and a coat of mascara (again, diorshow is AMAZING) on the top lashes only.  I finish up with a little bit of blush.  When it’s warmer I may apply bronzer, but I don’t wear it in the cooler months- pale is the new tan, dontcha know?

If my skin is revolting against me or I have a big event, I break out the big guns:

goingoutwear (2)

bareMinerals foundation, applied with a Sephora makeup brush and Bare Escentuals hydrating mineral veil, applied with MAC makeup brush.

loose powder (2)

I didn’t jump on the loose powder/mineral makeup train until I had my makeup done for my wedding.  It felt so lightweight and looked awesome!  I probably wear it around once a month.  I’ve heard people complain that the loose foundation is messy, but I don’t think it is.  I just ensure that there isn’t any excess on the brush before I swipe it along my face. 

So, what’s in your makeup bag?  Are you loyal to certain products?  Or are you more a “no makeup, thanks” kind of girl?  How long does your morning routine take?

Have a great Monday, friends!

18 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Products

18 responses to “What’s In Your Bag?

  1. I’m a “no make-up” girl. I only use a moisterizer on my face.

  2. First of all, I must say that I have had my maybeline eyelash curler since I was 12. That is my ultimate FAVORITE piece of make-up equipment. If that thing were to get lost or break I think I would die. And yes, I agree that it totally makes you look more awake to curl your lashes.

    And i’m super interested in trying out that mascara. I always end up back with maybeline in the pink tube but am on the prowl for a good lash lengthening one.

    This was a great and helpful post. I’m not super high mainenance with make up either, but am always interested in what other people use as I always using the same thing every day. Good idea to show off your goods. I was hoping you would have shown a face picture of you all pretty with your make up. Like a before makeup and after picture? 🙂

    My routine takes about 10 mins.

  3. I think I am going to give that concealer a try! Thanks for sharing Katie!! Have a great week!

  4. I love this post and seeing what you use! I need to try that under-eye concealer!

    Right now I use: clear mascara gel (for my eyebrows), clinique shimmery pink eyeshadow, eyeliner and mascara. Sometimes I curl my eyelashes and sometimes I have to hide zits (I never really hide them well!).

  5. I loveeeee bare minerals! I started using it about two years ago now, and I pretty much use it for everything except my mascara and lip gloss 😀 I use the cheap covergirl volume something mascara, because with most of the expensive ones I’ve bought, I find they aren’t that much better. I’ve never tried the dior mascara though, so maybe you will have converted me, hehe

  6. I was just looking at that Nars bronzer duo today on Sephora.com. I was always a Loreal girl but then I tried Bare Minerals and absolutely love it for my face. I still like Loreal for lip stuff though and Sephoras lip gloss is pretty bomb as well. As for eye makeup, I usually stick with Ulta or Bad Gal. Makeup makes me happy 🙂

  7. My morning make up routine literally takes 2 minutes. I use some sort of Covergirl eyeshadow and Covergirl Mascara and that’s it. When I’m getting more dressed up, I use Bare Minerals eye shadow and Mac fluidline eyeliner. I find that it’s the only kind that I am able to put on without making a huge mess.

  8. lowandbhold

    I’m a pretty basic makeup person. My makeup bag is pretty much a mixture of Clinique and drugstore stuff. I tried bare minerals, but I’m allergic 😦 Love your makeup bag!

  9. Laura

    Great post! I am a Clinique and Dior girl. I agree that Dior makes the best mascara and I love their eyeshadow too! It goes on so smoothly and never cakes or crinkles. I use Clinique’s combination skin products for my tinted moisturizer, undereye concealer, powder and bronzer. It’s the only brand that never makes me break out. It takes me 5-10 minutes to “put my face on” depending on how precise I want to be and if I’m in a rush.

  10. I am obsessed with my eyelash curler… I have no idea how I ever lived without it!! Takes two minutes if you don’t have time to load up on the mascara/liner/shadow deal. Great post 🙂

  11. I’m a pretty low maintenance girl as far as my daily make up goes, but MAC’s paint pot in painterly is a MUST for my eyelids 🙂

  12. love this post!
    i really like mineral foundation. it is sooo light. love it

  13. I think I’m boring with make-up and probably need professional help! LOL! I use a combo of drugstore stuff and Bare Minerals. I have fair, freckly, dry skin. I have to keep it kind of simple or I look way overdone because of my complexion. Thanks for sharing your bag!

  14. I certainly don’t wear makeup every day – especially if I’m not going anywhere. My make up bag has basic essentials a lot like yours for day to day wear, but some more fun eyeshadows for when I feel like glamming it up a bit more.

  15. I rarely wear makeup on the weekends. For the most part, I only wear it to work. My routine consists of moisturizer/spf 30, concealer, powder, blush, eyeshadow, eyeliner, and brow tamer…lol.

    I can’t wear mascara, it irritates my eyes to much!

Leave a comment