Snow Day!

Hi friends!  Thank you for all of your sweet comments on the reunion.  It really did feel kind of like a movie 😀

(wine tasting at Belhurst Castle)

So, after a disastrous THREE hour commute to work yesterday and an additional foot of snow predicted today, I declared a self-imposed snow day today.  My car (Rav4) is fantastic in the snow aside from the problematic feature of the windshield wipers freezing up, which is an issue when I thereby can’t see.  Yeah.  Didn’t want to do that again. 

After sleeping in until a leisurely 10:00 A.M., I sat down at the kitchen table with my coffee and oatmeal and got to schemin’ about lunch.  This is the easiest “recipe” (really, you’re just throwing things together) and it is so so delicious.  In fact, I think it may be my new default lunch!

First, gather your ingredients.  You can get creative- this is my third time having this wrap this week (and it’s only Wednesday!) and each wrap has been different). 

Assemble the veggies.

 Spread on the “spreadables” (goat cheese, mango salsa, garlic hummus and artichoke tapenade) and pile on the veggies.

Fold the wrap (yes, I had to google “how to fold a wrap”) and enjoy!

Veggie Packed Lunch (or dinner!) Wrap

Ingredients:

  • handful of button mushrooms, chopped
  • handful of cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • handful of baby spinach
  • goat cheese (enough for one wrap)
  • hummus
  • salsa
  • artichokes, chopped
  • Delicious artichoke tapenade from Trader Joe’s
  • wrap of your choice (I like the sun-dried tomato wraps)

Directions

  1. Lay wrap flat and spread on hummus, goat cheese and salsa
  2. Add veggies
  3. To wrap, fold the top and bottom of wrap first.  Then, cover the middle with the sides and you should be good to go!

Easy, delicious and filling!

What else does a snow day entail?

A form of cross-training that I think a lot of us are familiar with these days:

Shoveling!  Poor Mr. B- he so desperately wants to be outside with me but as soon as his little body hits the snow, he starts shaking uncontrollably!  I haven’t shoveled in a while- man, it is a really good workout!

After that, I still wanted to get a run in.  Unfortunately, my gym was closed because of the weather.  My brother’s wasn’t though and they just gave me a free seven-day pass!  Awesome!  It probably has something to do with the fact that my brother pretty much lives there 😉

I got a nice quick three miles in doing what is becoming my favorite interval workout:

  • Quarter mile @ 5.4
  • Quarter mile @ 5.7
  • Quarter mile @ 6.0
  • Quarter mile @ 7.1
  • Repeat!

I also got to try out some of my new lululemon duds.  Bri, sweet husband that he is, got me these pants and this top for Christmas.

Honestly, I really like this ensemble. It took me almost a mile to get to that point though.  The pants kept riding down, which was really frustrating.  However, after a little sweat they fit perfectly!  I’m glad too because I want to get a lot of wear out of these pants!  Has anyone else had this happen with a lululemon crop?  I have a few other pairs of pants from them that fit perfectly so I was surprised by the riding down issue.

I have some pretty exciting blog stuff coming up- Julie is going to be doing some design/transitioning work for me and I am stoked!  I added a recipe tab (though I still have a lot to add!) and am looking forward to some fun changes!

So, was today a snow day for you?  I am ready for winter to be overrrrrr.  On a bright note, Punxsutawney Phil did NOT see his shadow, which means early spring!  Woo!  I don’t really buy it but I’ll take what I can get :p.

19 Comments

Filed under Bailey, Food, Interval Workout, lululemon, Recipe, Running, Vegetarian

19 responses to “Snow Day!

  1. Omigawsh, about your pants riding up. Hey – it’s better than falling down! I had that problem on my run last saturday. I kept feeling a cold breeze on my bum, and luckily my hoodie was longer and it covered, but I had to run for the first mile literally holding my pants up. LOL! I am bummed because these are new workout pants too! But I guess they stretched out already.
    And way to go on your determination at the gym. That rocks that you were able to find a gym that would let you in. 🙂

  2. It is cold here, but sunny and no snow. My Dad is here for an extra day from NY because of the weather you are having 🙂 I love wraps for lunch, especially with soup. Have a great night Katie!

  3. J

    All the schools were closed here but we didn’t even get that much snow! About 3 inches and I still had to go to work! I really wanted a big storm where I had to stay home and could go out and play in the snow!

  4. I love your outfit! So cute and coordinated. My workout clothes never match 🙂

  5. Today was a definite snow day for me… no classes or work 🙂

    is it creepy that I know where your clothes are from in the picture of you and Brian? hahahaha

    I want to steal your dog, he’s adorable! And I loveeeeee your workout ensemble, so chic and cute, even when sweaty lol

  6. Jen

    my lulu running tights did that too–i need to run about a mile until they stay up!!! I think the same thing would happen with any pair of running rights though.

  7. I love your outfit! I’m obsessed with matching workout clothes. They make me feel cute when I workout!

  8. lowandbhold

    Today was a snow day! Love the ‘fit!
    I’d really like to go back to work tomorrow, however I’m scared to try to get around since my apartment complex and the neighborhood is far from cleared. We shall see.

  9. It was such a fun snow day!! I actually strapped on my heart rate moniter and headed outside with the monkeys…and hour workout with my ❤ rate at 70 %! Glad you found a gym to go to!

  10. I don’t know about Lulu crops, but I have a few pairs of Nike crops that ride down like that. Its sooo annoying when you first start running, but like you said, it gets better once you start sweating! haha.

  11. Cute pants! Sorry they ride up. That doesn’t sound like something that would be pleasant during running!

    I had my snow days about 3 weeks ago. It was 66 degrees here today!

  12. I don’t have Lulu crops but my Nike crops do that. Do yours have a tie on the inside around the waist? I won’t buy crops that don’t have that anymore, I’ve found that it’s key to avoid the crotch saggage.

  13. we finally had a snow day yesterday, I guess it took over 120 inches to get one : )
    I just read your post about the reunion with Brian, I got teary over it!

  14. Katherine: Unemployed

    if there’s food like that, a snow day would be great!

  15. YUM! That wrap looks delicious!

  16. Those pants are absolutelt adorable, I love it. However, Bailey is even more adorable! Poor little guy, he would get lost in the snow on his own I bet!!

    I don’t know how you people operate in that weather. I say I like snow but I would not be able to drive in that at all. One inch or more and yeah, snow day for me. I am a Florida girl at heart!!
    I love that you have pics of you and both of your men in this post 🙂

  17. Yesterday was a snow day for me too! Love your Lulu outfit, but I can’t believe they don’t fit great – have you tried bringing them back? I’m sure they’d let you exchange for a different size or different type of pant.

  18. Christina

    Cute outfit!

  19. Yup, my Lulu crops kinda fall/ride down too. I definitely find myself tugging them up while I’m running sometimes. I cinched the waitband with the string inside a little and that helps, but it still kinda happens to me too! The funny thing is that I have a lot of “junk in the trunk”, so you’d think they would hold up!

Leave a Reply

