Feature Friday & Shrimp Caprese

Hi guys!  TGIEF 😉  I am so excited for the weekend- it couldn’t come soon enough.  Last weekend was a whirlwind and super fun.  The first thing I did was hit up Saratoga Chowderfest with some awesome ladies: 

Julie, Kristin, Me, Kara and Laura

It was awesome, if a bit snowy and freezing!  My favorite chowders were a mango chipotle crab chowder from Cantina and a sweet potato crab chowder from Classe catering (who catered my wedding!).  Amazing.  I ended up sampling about five chowders along with some bomb hot chocolate.  I wish I tried more!

A bit of housekeeping- if you have a blogger/blogspot blog, I have been having a really hard time trying to comment.  I usually give up after the third try 😉  So I am still reading, just unable to comment!

So, Feature Friday.  Each week (let’s be honest, we’ll see how well I keep up with this) I’m going to feature one of my favorite blogs that I read and that I think you need to read, too 😉  This week’s fave blogger is Tiffany, who blogs over at Simply Shaka.

Why do I love Tiffany’s blog?  Well, for starters, homegirl is straight hilarious.  I can’t get through one of her blog posts without laughing out loud.   Seriously.  She always has photos of her adorable dog, Lincoln and lots of easy, fun recipes.  Go check her blog out!

Seriously, how awesome is Linc?

Okay, on to an awesome recipe.  How many times can I say awesome in this post?  Seriously, I cook with shrimp so much I feel like Forrest Gump.  Pineapple shrimp, lemon shrimp, coconut shrimp, pepper shrimp, shrimp stew, shrimp salad…

Moving on.  I really like caprese salad (fresh mozzarella, tomatoes and basil) so I figured why not incorporate that into a recipe with the “fruit of the sea” ? 😉  I’m happy to say that this recipe is easy to make and tastes awesome. 

Shrimp Caprese

Ingredients

  • One box of whole grain/whole wheat pasta
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 6-8 ounces fresh mozzarella, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 pound of cooked medium shrimp, tails removed
  • about 3/4 carton cherry tomatoes, tomatoes cut in half
  • 3/4 cup dry white wine
  • 2 T olive oil
  • Half of a yellow onion, diced
  • Basil- I used about five leaves
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Cook pasta according to directions, set aside
  2. Add olive oil to large saute pan, add onions and garlic- sautee for about two minutes
  3. Add shrimp and sautee for an additional two minutes
  4. Add white wine and tomatoes, sautee until wine starts to absorb and tomatoes cook through (a few minutes)
  5. Stir in cooked pasta, fresh mozzarella and basil.  Remove from heat and stir some more.  Add salt and pepper to your liking
  6. Enjoy!

Easy, right?  It is sooo good.  It didn’t last very long in my house 😉 

Do you like shrimp?  It is one of my diet staples!  It is a great source of protein and so easy to cook with and incorporate into dishes. 

Any fun plans for the weekendHeather coordinated a fun blogger dinner tonight and I am super stoked!

16 Comments

Filed under Feature Friday, Recipe

16 responses to “Feature Friday & Shrimp Caprese

  1. Jen

    Hey I’m going to try to make it to the dinner tonight….can’t wait to see you!

  2. Nicole

    Dude, this meal is right up your alley! I’m surprised you haven’t come up with it sooner…yum yum! 🙂

  3. lowandbhold

    I wish I liked shrimp. I’ve tried so many times but I just can’t like it.
    Cool feature!

  4. Katie, I LOVE that pink hat on you! It is made for you. Have a great time at your dinner tonight and a wonderful weekend. BTW thanks for sharing that recipe. I love shrimp. Can’t wait to check out Tiffany’s blog 🙂

  5. Love Tiffany’s blog too! And I think this is a great idea to share other blogs. 🙂

    Those two chowders sound amazing by the way!

  6. Awww I’m blushing–thanks for featuring me and Linky Linx 🙂 I was going to ask that you use a good picture of me and thats one of my favorites of us together!

    I love the shrimp dish! I like how freshy and flavorful it sounds, I don’t make seafood at home that much which makes me sad. I think I need to change that….soon! Plus basil makes everything better 🙂

    Happy Fzriday!

  7. Pingback: The little Frugal Friday that could « Simply Shaka

  8. That might be the best picture I’ve ever seen of a dog!

  9. I love shrimp! That dish looks great!

  10. I am subscribed to Tiffany’s blog too, love her humor!

  11. Thanks for the shout out! Chowderfest was really fun! I wish we could’ve made it through the crowds a little easier to check out more of the restaurants. I’m sorry to hear that you’re having trouble commenting on blogger/blogspot blogs just as I wrote 4-5 new posts 😦

  12. Ahhh I am a hugeeee fan of Tiffany’s, her blog, and little Link!!!! She is 100% hilarious and i can’t help but smile whenever I read her blog. Love this idea of a feature friday blogpost!!

  13. This post was awesome just like you! LOL! I just wanted to use the word awesome too! Sounds like you get a lot of blogger meet-ups. Still really jealous that I live so far away from all the fun! Loving the caprese recipe!

  14. Oh – I have the same prob with blogger! Since I moved over to wordpress, i have to push the submit button atleast 3 times before it slowly posts my comment.

  15. So good! I LOVE shrimp. I never really cook them but I need to start. For some reason I get nervous about cooking seafood. But I know it’s not actually that hard!

Leave a comment