A Year Ago

One year ago today, it was a Friday afternoon.  I was scheduled to get married in one month and one day.  My work had just thrown me a lovely bridal shower, and lots of friends and family were preparing to come into town for my official bridal shower the next day.  I was flying high.  Then, I got the news

To say I was devastated would be a bit of an understatement.  I spent the rest of the afternoon bursting into tears and calming myself down, only to start crying again.  Saturday morning came, and though it was supposed to be a happy day (it was, after all, the day of my bridal shower) I felt like there was a black cloud of doom over my head.  Dramatic, yes.  I truly was happy to see everyone, but the news that Brian was heading to Afghanistan one month after we married was in the back of my mind, threatening to spill over into tears at any moment.  I look back at the photos from my wonderful shower and I can’t help but laugh to myself.  It was a wonderful shower, but I couldn’t full enjoy it.  The military has impeccable timing 😉

My bridesmaid Kristin and I at my shower.

On Sunday, I woke up and the black cloud was gone.  I felt like my old self.  Yes, Brian was going to Afghanistan.  However, it wasn’t a death sentence and we would come out of it even stronger.  Yes, it was going to be a long and difficult year apart, but we had/have so much to look forward to. 

Of course, it hasn’t been easy.  Sometimes Brian being gone hit me like a ton of bricks.  Although I love the videos of soldiers reuniting with their families after a deployment, they are hard to watch when you still have so long to go until your own reunion.  Wendy wrote a touching blog post that I looked to when I started to feel sad about Brian being overseas. 

Looking back, though, I wish I could tell myself to not be so sad and that everything is going to be okay.  We are on the tail end of the deployment (he will be home SO SOON :D) and in retrospect, the year went by so quickly.  SO quickly.  No, it was not an ideal way to spend a first year of marriage.  However, I know that it has made us stronger and more appreciative of one another.  We can make it through anything 🙂

When you news of a deployment, it can appear endless (a whole YEAR?).  I’m here to tell you that it isn’t.  Keep yourself busy.  Embark on exciting adventures.  Spend time with family and friends.  And look forward to the best reunion of your life 🙂

Thanks for all of your comments on my running slump.  I am definitely okay, health-wise- I just can’t run or practice hot yoga.  I’ll figure it out soon enough 🙂

15 Comments

Filed under Military Life

15 responses to “A Year Ago

  1. You have such a positive attitude. I can’t imagine what it’d be like to deal with this, but it seems like you’re all the stronger for it. Keep it up, girl.

  2. You really do have an amazing attitude. I love your positivity. I hope time goes just a little quicker so that you are reunited with your love.

    I hope you enjoy your weekend 😉

  3. You are amazing! The way you deal with things blows my mind because I don’t know if I could ever be that optimistic and positive. You guys are going to be so much stronger when he gets home, and he’ll be home SO SOON! yayyyyyyyyy 😀 😀 😀

  4. thank you for sharing this, doll face! I can’t even begin to imagine the roller coaster of emotions you’ve faced the past year- and i am so excited that you are on the tail end of the deployment!!! HOORAY! xoxoxo

  5. lowandbhold

    That is so great that you’re almost reunited! You are so strong!

  6. One of my best friends is married to an Army guy and she goes through this a lot too. It must be very hard but you sound like you’re a very strong person. And like you said, he’ll be home soon!

    PS – I’ve been told that your comment issue has been fixed on my blog.

  7. I can’t even imagine what it’s like to go through that–especially right when you are getting married! I have alot of friends from college who are currently in or have been in Afghanistan. I am just happy they are still alive and in good health. My best friend who came to visit me a couple of months ago was over there for a year and I started crying when she said she was back and pregnant. It’s just so surreal to have someone who is so close to you being in so much danger and putting their lives on the line all in the name of our freedoms.

  8. Katie, you are so sweet ❤ Thank you 🙂 I know this post will help a lot of people. When I read your words about being on the tail end of the deployment I got goose bumps and felt so happy for you. Have a lovely Sunday evening! xoxo

  9. wow, I remember that post! I’m happy you’ve found a great perspective on everything. Hope your health issues clear up too!

    oh, and the hair curlers….I wrap my hair under the curler, so when you unroll it, it curls in towards my head.

  10. I remember reading that post! Can you believe we’ve been blogging this long? The year does go by fast, doesn’t it? How soon is SO SOON? I can’t wait until you all are reunited again.:-)

  11. Life and emotions are sneaky like this. Our personal situation hasn’t been shared yet, but somedays it just feels like i’m trying to move a mountain and my heart hurts… others I realize it’s just not that bad and all is well. So those are the days I cling to and work to have more of all the time!

  12. i can’t even imagine how difficult it must have been for this time – your upbeat & positive attitude is really a great example!

  13. I don’t watch shows or specials on tv following army wives or things of that nature. I am always touched when extreme makeover does a story on a family of service member or say a silent prayer when families are mentioned on tv. I have a hard time seeing the tough stories because they really do pull on my heartstrings.

    That being said, your blog is something I DO enjoy reading. The continuity of daily life is so great to follow plus the poetry of your struggles wrapped with hope is inspiring. Just a tidbit! Be strong and carry on. Your husband is a hero

  14. I’m happy for you that it’s almost over. It did seem to go by fast, I feel like I just read that post. You are so incredibly strong and always stay so positive. His return will be amazing!!

  15. i can’t even imagine, but you’re strength and attitude is amazing!! here’s to a year full of honeymoons:) waking up everyday next to him!!

Leave a comment