TGIEF- Races!

Thank god it’s effing Friday! 😀  This week seemed to drag on forever, even with the snow day on Wednesday! Oy.  In cute news, Buckleface got groomed yesterday (he was long overdue- I feel like a bad parent!): He is one of the cutest little guys ever.  Anyway.  I was looking at my google calendar (one of the best things ever, by the way) and I realized that I am running a marathon relay with Jen and Melissa in oh, a little over two weeks.  The legs are 9.2, 5.7 and 11.3 miles.  I assumed I would be running the short distance, with Jen training for a half and Melissa being her marathon-loving self.  Well, Jen injured her hip and Melissa hurt her ankle.  Hmm, I may need to up my training, seeing that after the half in October my longest run has been six miles in November at the end of Melissa’s marathon.  Heh.  Also, the day before the race is one of my besties’ 30th birthday and obvi we are going to do it up big.  So, it should be an interesting race to say the least 😀

Exciting stuff happened while Brian was here!  We both signed up to run the Boilermaker 😀  I am SO excited!  It was one of my favorite races last year and it will be so awesome to run it with Brian (well, not with him, because he may run this race at his pace).

After last year’s Boilermaker with my bestie Nicole’s husband, Michael, who also ran the race

In addition to signing up for the boilermaker, Brian also registered for the Marine Corps Marathon!  AAAA!  So exciting.  Civilian folk like myself (though hey, I am a military wife, doesn’t that count for something 😉 ) can’t register until February 23rd.  I will be registering first thing that morning.  I can’t believe we are running our first marathon this year! 😀

This weekend is going to be fun.  A run with Melissa tonight (very necessary), chowderfest (YES!) manana, and a six miler on Sunday (I have to build up to the nine miles for the marathon relay!).  What are y’all up to this weekend?  Have a great one! 🙂

17 Comments

Filed under Bailey, Running

17 responses to “TGIEF- Races!

  1. J

    I still don’t know if I will run Boilermaker! This would be my 6th or 7th year in a row! I have a wedding on the Friday before the race so I don’t know what will happen! Your race schedule sounds exciting!! I have always wants to do a marathon relay but just haven’t been able to fit it in! Have a great weekend!

  2. So fun that you guys will be training for a marathon together 🙂

    Tonight Ryan and I are going to the movies. I haven’t been to a movie in like 8 months! Saturday I’m running with the Lululemon run club, Sunday running in a super bowl sunday 5k. Otherwise errands and hopefully some relaxing!

  3. lowandbhold

    I will be watching the Marine Corps! I will be on the lookout for YOUUU!

  4. Sara

    I’m doing the marathon relay too! I have not been training for it very well at all. I’m doing the 9 mile leg, I really need to get my butt in gear. Of course I’m traveling for work all next week…I’m totally screwed!

  5. Aww Bailey is so cute! TGIEF! It has been a long week for me too. I have 1more day of work…ugh!

    I volunteered to do the 11.3 leg for the relay. I don’t mind. 🙂 I have to step up my running…I have been such a slacker.

    I plan on running the Boilermaker too! Not sure about the MCM yet. I would love love love to do the Kauai Marathon on Sept 2. Who wants to go with me? I would totally run in a bikini and grass skirt. LOL

    I can’t wait to run tonight. I ate pizza, wings and cake today for our Super Bowl food day at work. What am I thinking? Gotta run these calories off. LOL

    See ya tonight!

  6. Christina

    Y’all?? You talking southern now?? LOL
    Good luck with the marathon training!

  7. I am so excited about all of your races! And really curious to hear about how your relay goes.

    Your first marathon!!! 🙂 SQUEAAAAAALLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. I hope you have a wonderful weekend Katie! I love the plans you have with Brian. That is very exciting. Say Happy 30th Birthday to your friend for me!!

  9. That’s so exciting- I would love to run that marathon!

  10. whoo hoo I love the weekend! (so I can catch up on school; bleh)

  11. Haha TGIEF. I think I’m going to use that abbreviation from now on! That relay sounds like fun too.

    This weekend I’m going to a farm! And exploring Buenos aires 🙂

  12. Katie, that’s so wonderful that you and Brian will be running the MCM together this year. My husband (an ex-marine) and I plan to run it as our first marathon, too. Good luck on your 6-miler tomorrow!

  13. Ha! I like the extra E thrown in there 😉
    Good luck on the relay! I’m sure you’ll be able to pull through – but that is a lot of pressure!!

  14. congrats on signing up for the run!

  15. oh oh oh I’m going to do marine corp!!!! does this mean we can meet up!!!

  16. I hereby motion for the E to officially become a part of the TGIF acronym. Amen girl! 🙂

  17. Pingback: Feature Friday & Shrimp Caprese | Legally Fit

Leave a Reply

