My Goals for 2011

One of the many benefits of having a blog is that it presents a place to document your goals and allows you to hold yourself accountable.  It was really beneficial to look back to my 2010 goals post and evaluate what I set out to accomplish.  I have some big plans for 2011.  Let’s get to it:

Katie’s 2011 Goals

Fitness/Health

  1. Run a Marathon.  I am SO excited for this goal.  I never ever everrr thought that I would want to run a marathon.  I told myself that my body wasn’t capable of combatting this distance.  You know what, though?  If I put in the training, I CAN and WILL conquer this distance.  On January 19th, Bri and I are signing up for the 2011 Marine Corps Marathon.  Well, at the very least Brian is- military peeps get to register a month early.  If I can’t register early, I will be registered to run this race on February 23rd!  😀
  2. Run a Half-Marathon. I am really excited to run a half-marathon again.  I LOVED my first half experience.  I plan on signing up for the More/Fitness Half in NYC that takes place in early April.  Training will start in early February.  I have a few time goals in mind, the main one being to beat my previous time of 2:13:33.
  3. Continue My Hot Yoga Practice.  A sub-goal of this is to master the standing head to knee pose.  I have a very hard time keeping my knee locked on my standing leg in this pose, which just means that I need to work on strength.  When I’m training for a big race, I want to attend hot yoga 2x/week.  In the off-season, I want to attend a minimum of 4-5x/week. 
  4. Eat Only Grass-Fed Beef.  After reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma, I went pescetarian for the month of December (I’ll get into that in a different post).  Now that January is here, I do think I will introduce meat into my diet.  I will not, however, purchase or eat any meat that comes from a factory farm.  The only meat I will buy is going to come from my local co-op.  I f a restaurant menu indicates that the meat is grass-fed, I will consider ordering it.
  5. Continue to Try New Recipes.  I had a lot of fun experimenting with new recipes and different types of food in 2010 (quinoa, anyone?).  2011 will bring even more fun recipes!

Personal/Professional

  1. Wake Up Earlier.  I love my sleep.  However, I need to give myself more time to get ready in the morning.  It would be nice to arrive at work fifteen minutes early instead of 9:00 A.M. on the dot. 
  2. Blow Dry My Hair More.  Odd goal, right?  My hair is very fine and straight, which translates to wash and go.  It is great for convenience factor but at the same time, it probably isn’t good to walk outdoors to a coffee shop and walk inside with your hair frozen (this happened to me last week 😉 ).  Plus, it will help me feel more put together.  On that note:
  3. Accessorize More.  During my 30 Day wardrobe challenge, I was forced to think outside of the box with my ten articles of clothing.  This led to increased accessory use, which led to a lot of fun and different outfits.  Accessories can really tie an outfit together.  Plus, I have a lot of fun new necklaces to wear from my lia sophia party.  Woohoo!
  4. Get My Financial Act Together.  I used to be obsessed with personal finance blogs.  Obsessed!  I tracked my finances down to the penny (with pearbudget, love them) and knew where all of my money was going.  I have fallen off of this financial accountability wagon and while I’m not a big spender, I need to be more cognizant of where my money is going. 
  5. Continue to Improve My Public Speaking Abilities.  This one is pretty self-explanatory 😉
  6. Blogging- Finish What I Start.  I have a lot of posts in draft that I just need to write.  A review of Born To Run, my Wardrobe Challenge Recap (from August!), my review of The Omnivore’s Dilemma, etc.  If I say I am going to write something, I need to just write the damn thing!
  7. Blogging- Become Self-Hosted.  I am on tap to go self-hosted at the end of the month, with the help of Savvy Julie.  Very exciting!

Well friends, those are my concrete goals for 2011.  Whatcha think?  What goals have you set for yourself this year?

33 Comments

Filed under Goals

33 responses to “My Goals for 2011

  1. that’s so great about your marathon, especially that you and Brian get to do it together! Happy New Year!

  2. awesome goals! i’m glad you mentioned the public speaking… definitely a reminder of something i need to work on!

  3. Great goals! They all seem attainable and I have a feeling you will reach them all 🙂 I did the MORE 1/2 Marathon last year. It poured the entire time but it ended up being one of the most proud half marathons I have ever done. I felt like such a bad ass once I finished. My only tip is to train on hills b/c there are 2 big hills in the race that you get to run up twice in central park.

  4. Great goals – I admit I laughed at your blow dry your hair more often one – but it makes sense! 🙂

  5. lowandbhold

    Great goals! So excited for you and your MARATHON! Woo hoo!
    I’d like to become self-hosted too, but I’m scurred.

  6. GREAT list!! So inspiring! I am on pearbudget right now- what a cool website!!

  7. Great goals, Katie! Can’t wait to read along in 2011!

  8. It sounds like you have a lot of great goals set out for 2011!! I can’t wait to read about your journey to the marathon!

  9. Love the goals! And exciting on the marathon one. You got it!

  10. So excited to read about you training for the marathon! I would love to do that race 🙂

  11. Great goals! I find the “blow drying your hair” one hilarious because I do the SAME thing! There is nothing wrong with letting your car heater dry your hair while driving to work in the morning. It’s multi-tasking! LOL

    Good luck with marathon training! Yippee! I can’t wait to help you train for yours like you helped me train for mine. I look forward to all our runs at the park this year!

  12. That’s so fun that you are signing up for a marathon with your husband! All your other goals sound good too. I also go outside with a wet head in the morning.

    About the self-hosting, besides there being additional plug-ins and stuff, what is the benefit of it? Is it something a blogger should do if they don’t have that many readers (like me)?

    • LOL well I don’t have a ton of readers (I love the ones that I have though! 😀 ) but it appears that self-hosting gives you more design freedom? And I dig the email comment reply plugin.

  13. Awesome goals, girl! You are setting that bar! 🙂
    Thanks for the link to pearbudget!

  14. Great goals! And thats just awesome about the marathon, you go with your bad self! I would sign up to run that one if I wanted to–hello hot boys 🙂

    I heart quinoa, it;s so much fun to experiment with! I want to try it for breakfast sometime since I’ve seen some recipes for breakfast ideas with quinoa being the main ingredient.

    Feel you on the hair issues. I’ve been lazy lately and don’t feel like drying it all the way or even flipping it to make it look cute. I looked like the poor white mans version of Diana Ross today!

  15. J

    So excited for you to run a Marathon!! And with Brian! That will be so fun!

    I always blow dry my hair in the winter because of it freezing. In the summer though, I never do. I just need to style my hair more. Great goals Katie! So excited for the year to come!

  16. great goals! They all seem very manageable and not overwhelming 🙂

    Waking up earlier is such a pain, I’m trying to get myself back in the routine of not sleeping late for when classes begin for spring semester. Ughh, I just love sleeping too much, hahaa!

  17. Awesome Goals!! I am with you on that dang head to knee pose! I have so much trouble keeping my standing leg straight! Where do you take hot yoga? I just purchased a month membership to a Bikram Yoga studio and i am loving it!

  18. Awesome goals! I plan on doing the More/ Fitness Mag. half too … assuming my 2nd half in march goes well 🙂 Gotta email you so we can virtually train together.

  19. Awesome goals! The personal finance is one I definitely need to work on. Not that I go crazy, but I need to be more aware of the smaller things that eat up my money without me realizing. And I’m also running the More/Fitness Half Marathon!! Hurray. Maybe we will finally meet! Scratch that – we MUST finally meet. Don’t do the pasta dinner – it’s expensive and gross. We will do dinner elsewhere!

  20. great goals! looks like its gonna be a good year.
    Happy 2011

  21. Those are some great goals! I can tell you put a lot of thought into it. You and I have a lot in common, especially on the personal side — accessories, getting more sleep and finishing blogs I draft.

  22. love that you are always so well rounded and have good reasoning with your goals! can’t wait to see how your 2011 goes

  23. I am excited to read all of those unread blog posts.

    AND EVEN MORE EXCITED ABOUT YOUR FIRST MARATHON! YAYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  24. soooo many awesome goals!! You are going to ROCK THEM!!!

    I’m working on the mary/half-mary too and definitely want to finish what I start. I have soooo many drafts for the blog, and also just personal writing, that I never finished–I want to see things through more this year!

Leave a Reply

