Ringing in the New Year: A Healthy Alternative

It’s hard to believe it is December 30th.  Another year has flown by!  Tomorrow marks the celebration of the last day of 2010 and a welcoming of 2011. 

Some of you may have your New Year’s eve traditions firmly in place.  Until recent years, my New Year’s eve typically involved getting dolled up (fun), heading out to some place with an overpriced entry fee (not fun), and imbibing cocktails with my girlfriends (fun), avoiding the more ridiculous partygoers (perhaps this is why New Year’s eve is snarkily referred to as “amateur night”). 

Last year Bri and I did things a little differently.  After spending the evening watching old seasons of The Office, we watched the ball drop and promptly went to sleep.  We had to be up early to make it to the Hair of the Dog 5k!   I felt amazing after that race.  It felt really good to start the year off on the right foot- setting a healthy precedent, if you will.  That race was my fourth 5k.  I’d been running for approximately six months.  The farthest I had ever run was 3.1 miles. 

 On New Year’s Day 2010, I had some big goals for myself.  A 14k, a half-marathon, and numerous others.  That fourth 5k reaffirmed my commitment to my health and well-being.  I felt as though I had turned over a new leaf.  Instead of staying up into the wee hours of the night drinking, I made one healthy decision.  Which led to some others.  Happily, I achieved most of the goals that I set out for myself (which I laid out in excruciating detail in my last post).   In part because I rang in 2010 in a new, healthy way.  In part because I believed in myself and in my dedication. 

This year is no different.  Well, health-wise at least.  I won’t be spending it with my husband, seeing as how he is halfway around the world.  I will, however, be keeping my New Year’s fitness tradition going.  On New Year’s eve, the hot yoga studio I belong to is holding a late night “Studio 54” class from 10-11:30 PM.  You can bet I will be there 😉  I even conned one of my besties into coming with me (thanks Kristin! 😀 ) On New Year’s day I will be running a 3.5 mile race with some awesome ladies.  It feels really good to end the year and begin a new one participating in activities that I have come to love and identify myself with.  Cheers to a happy and healthy 2011!

How will you be spending New Year’s eve and day?  Don’t worry, I won’t judge if you are out partying.  Sometimes that is needed.  Though I may call you an amateur 😉

Image sources: (here) and (here)

20 Comments

Filed under Fitness, hot yoga, Running

20 responses to “Ringing in the New Year: A Healthy Alternative

  1. Hot yoga on NYE sounds fantastic!!! My girlfriends and I are just doing a low key dinner and drinks deal… last year’s partying was more than enough!

    Here’s to 2011 🙂

  2. I wish I lived closer to you ladies! I don’t think I can convince any of my friends to run a 5k with me on New Years day morning. But your plan for the night sounds amazing and I’m so excited for you! 🙂 Happy New Year friend! It’s been fun watching you accomplish your goals through the past year. I can’t wait to see whats in store for next year! Wahhooo!

  3. Sounds like you’re really going to ring in the New Year in a healthy way!! I love that! One healthy decision definitely leads to another, and New Year’s Eve is a great time to start (or continue on with) that precedent!

  4. Meg

    I love your NYE plan! I’m also running a 5k on New Year’s Day. It’s not til 2pm though, so we can sleep in a bit. It’s funny how times change, I used to be out until all hours on NY, now I know I’ll be struggling to make it until the ball drops!

  5. J

    The hot yoga sounds like so much fun! I usually just stay in on New Years. If I do manage to stay up till midnight, the next day I always feel so tired. I am looking forward to the nicer weather we are going to have so I can get out for my first 2011 run!

  6. I’m hanging out with Heather to watch the ball drop after church. And then running with you. Finally! Yeah!

  7. Sounds like a great way to ring in the new year! Happy New Year to you!

  8. I have done the partying thing – the best was when I rang in 2007 in Rome on a trip to Italy with some of my Spanish friends. I have also done the stay in with M. and watch movies and play scrabble thing. I’ll be doing the latter this year and starting 2011 off with a run!

  9. lowandbhold

    I’m usually out partying but this year I’m hoping to con the bf into chilling on the couch with me 🙂 I love the idea of NYE yoga, that’s so cool!

  10. I’m so glad to ready you had a wonderful 2010! I’ll see you on the first. As for me, I’ll be spending NYE taking care of my little girl who has strep throat. There is no rest (or partying) for a mom who has a sick child.

  11. I heard the term amateur night on the radio for the first time today. I thought about doing a 10K in the morning, but I have non-runner friends coming into town so I figured that they wouldn’t want to do that. Maybe next year.

  12. What cute ideas—I love Hair of the Dog and Studio 54. I would totally do the yoga thing if they had something like that here. I used to be big into going out but now, I am ready to go to bed by 1230A and enjoy not being hungover the next day.

    I’m stoked I have tomorrow off, I am going to run errands, pick up ingredients for food I am making, go over to my friends house, eat, drink a few, watch tv and crash there (with Lincoln of course), it will be a fabulous time and practically free!

  13. Happy New Year Katie! I will be cozy at home 😉

  14. I had a similar idea about ringing in the new year on a healthy note. On New Years Eve, I will watch the fireworks at midnight then head to bed so I can attend a New Years day Bikram Yoga class! Good luck with all of your goals for 2011. I can’t wait to read all about them!

  15. I don’t really drink, so I’m staying in 🙂 I would love to run a race on New Year’s Day! I wish there were some near me.

  16. Nicki

    Not quite 5 pm on NYE and I am in my flannel jammie pants and a long sleeve race tee. I am making dinner for me and the kids, having some bubbly and going to bed. 18 miler on my plate tomorrow. I did the local Y’s Resolution Run today with a good friend who was running her first 5K. We had a blast.

  17. Happy New Year, Katie!!
    I received my Secret Santa gift yesterday and it was all perfect!!! Thank you so much for such FANTASTIC gifts. You “got me” perfectly!

  18. Good luck in the race this morning!
    We went to a party last night and today just hanging around the house in some comfy clothes eating leftover treats that I made yesterday 🙂
    Happy New Year!

  19. My kind of NYE! We stayed in last night b/c I wasn’t feeling too hot. I’m glad we did though b/c I’m feeling much better today. I don’t really like NYE – it’s too hyped up and I spent too many years getting too drunk and seriously hurting the next day. I liked waking up in 2011 feeling not hungover! Hope you had a great night!

Leave a Reply

