Hello December!

Hi friends!  Can you believe that it is December already? 😀

(source)

I can!  And I am excited 🙂  I am THAT much closer to seeing my husband.  Yippee!!   Since it is a brand new month, it is time to review my goals that I set for the month of November to see if I met them:

Goals: Life/Personal

  • Finish our wedding thank you cards. Yes!  Well, for the most part.  The only cards I have left (three or four) are for people that sent gifts a few months after the wedding.  PHEW.
  • Change over last name on passport/social security card.  Big fat NO.  Dang it!
  • Organize closet. Another NO.  December it is!
  • Go Green.  I was kind of successful at this.  It it difficult to not use take out containers and the like!  I definitely need to work harder on this.  Jen, keep me in check!  Heh.

Goals: Health/Fitness

  • Conquer tofu.  YAY!  I totally kicked this goal’s booty.  I wish I had known all along how easy it is to make tofu!  It will definitely be incorporated into my weekly cooking recipe arsenal.
  • Attend hot yoga a minimum of four times a weekYay!  I mostly succeeded at this- attending four times a week with the exception of one week when I was traveling.  I can really tell a difference in my strength and flexibility in practicing so much.  I’m addicted!
  • Maintain a base mileage of 10 miles/week.  Well, I ran forty miles in November so I’ll say I was right on track! 

So, the month of November was a successful one for my fitness goals and a little successful on the personal/life goals.  I got the most important thing out of the way- that being getting almost all of the wedding thank you cards done 🙂 🙂 🙂  Did you meet your November goals?  I’m working on my December goals and will post them shortly 🙂

Soo I don’t remember if I mentioned this on the blog but I randomly decided to enter the lottery for the NYC half-marathon on March 20, 2011.  The drawing is December 15th so I will find out then if I’m in.  In the meantime, Jen has presented me with a fabulous offer- the chance to run the Melbourne Half-Marathon with her on February 6th!  Her parents have a place down there so I would only have to pay for airfare and food and whatnot.  That is awesome enough as it is…but we would also take the time to go here:

the Wizarding World of Harry Potter!   (source)

GAH!  Insert extreme dorkiness here.  😀  I don’t know if I can pass this opportunity up!  BTW, how awesome was Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows?  I cannot wait for the next movie to come out! 

The only hesitation I have is that I would 1) have to start training NOW (I am enjoying this laid back running/extra hot yoga) and 2) lots of early morning training runs due to extreme darkness at night.  Ick.  I trained for the Virginia is for Lovers 14k during the winter so I know I could do it.  What do you guys think?  Should I do it??

Enjoy your day, friends!

By the way- thanks for all of the kind thoughts for Bailey.  The poor little guy had to have five teeth pulled 🙂  He handled it like a champ and is enjoying being spoiled with lots of soft, yummy foods 🙂

23 Comments

Filed under Goals, Running

23 responses to “Hello December!

  1. I say a big fat YES – do it! Since I didn’t see airfare price as a factor, there’s no reason not to do it 🙂

  2. Jen

    DO IT!! I’m starting my training in december right after Christmas (or maybe the week before Christmas) eeek! 🙂 And yes, we def. would to hit up HP WORLD!!! some of my goals are to run a race in other states in 2011. I entered myself in the lottery for the DC Cherry Blossom 10 miler too!

  3. Nicki

    I say go for it. I might even be able to convince my daughter to run again (she use to run cross country) if I threw in Harry Potter.

  4. Happy December to you! Wow can you believe this year is almost over. What a great year! So many wonderful things happened this year!

    You accomplished so much in November. Great job!

    As your friend, I can help you with one of your goals for December. I can help you organize your closet! I organize mine at least once a week. I even color coded Jim’s shirts. He didn’t appreciate it…ugh, men!

    I think you so do the 1/2 marathon in Florida in February! Even if you get picked for the NYC 1/2 in March, you will be fully trained for it! When I get better, I will run with you at night with my super cool headlamp so you can get the miles in. 🙂

  5. You should totally do it. And it would be fun for you to run another race with Jen :0)

  6. I think you should do it!!!

    Ugh– those last three or four thank you cards are the worst. Almost makes you wish you hadn’t gotten the gift at all, ha!

  7. lowandbhold

    Definitely do it! You will never regret traveling and having amazing experiences! That would be so fun!

    Good job on your goals!

  8. I hope you get into the NYC half – I am in that lottery too!! That would be so exciting. And the Melbourne Half sounds amazing. Could you do both? Poor Bailey – why did he have to have so many teeth pulled?

    • Apparently it is pretty common for yorkies to have bad teeth. I don’t really get it since he will be just turning five and I don’t feed him wet food (table scraps are a different matter, haha).

      That would be awesome if we both got into the NYC half!

  9. J

    Happy December! You should definitely run the half! You can train in the mornings, it will just take a bit of planning!

  10. I think you should do it. It’ll be fun and you can see Harry Potter!

    I still haven’t changed my name on anything. Oops.

  11. Julie

    Hi Katie,
    I can’t believe that it is December already and Christmas is just a few weeks away! I am not ready for that yet. Actually, I am not in the holiday mood/spirit yet either….hopefully that will change:)
    Run the half! If anything just do it for fun and don’t put any pressure on stress on yourself. Just run it relaxed, don’t fuss about your time and enjoy it:)
    I still need to watch the last Harry Potter movie all the way through. I made it through half of it and then life happened. We will have to rent it again so I don’t get confused watching the new one.
    Take care Katie!

  12. I say do it—it’s a great goal to work towards! I love they there is a Virginia is For Lovers race, haha, thats awesome.

    And I am totally diggin the December picture….mostly becuase I am a December baby 🙂

  13. I considered changing my theme to this one too! Can you really customize it?

    Ah, who cares if you have to walk the entire race?? You could go to AUSTRALIA!!! Oh wait, I’m just realizing you mean Florida…lol.

  14. Ooh that sounds so fun – you should do it!!
    This is what I need to do with my goals – actually check if I’m crossing things off the list once in a while! I’m great at setting goals but less great at following through with them (especially if I don’t give myself reminders).

  15. you should totally do it!! Love Harry Potter!

    Nice job with your goals, I like the idea of monthly goals, seems much more doable. : )

  16. I say do it! Sounds like a fun race! 🙂 And great job on rocking your November goals.

  17. You should do it! It sounds awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

