Philly Marathon Spectating Recap!

Happy Monday!  I hope everyone had a fun and relaxing weekend.  Mine was quite the whirlwind!  On Friday I got in a quick interval workout on the treadmill and then packed for Philadelphia!  My friend Melissa was running her first marathon and I was heading along to spectate/cheer/haze her run the last few miles with her! 

We arrived at the hotel on Saturday afternoon.  I dropped her off and headed to complete an essential task:  grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s!  I met up with my mother in law and did some serious damage.  Thirty minutes and $104 dollars later I had more than three bags worth of awesome-ness.  Bri will be getting quite the package soon 🙂  As for me, I am very excited to try pumpkin cream cheese, pumpkin butter, artichoke dip . . . YES! 😀  I purchased four bags of peanut butter pretzels (one or two were for Bri) but as I was leaving Philly a homeless guy had a sign asking for food and/or money.  I don’t carry cash so I gave him a bag of the pretzels.  Meager, I know.  I feel so helpless sometimes!  He looked at me and said “Thank you for not staring ahead and ignoring me as if I did not exist.”  So sad. 

Anyway, back to the marathon weekend!  Sunday morning came bright and early for Melissa!  She left the hotel at 5:30 to get there early for the 7 AM start.  The plan was for me to meet up with her at mile 20 and go from there.  I took a cab to mile 20 (thirty dollars later, yipes) carrying my bright yellow sign- “Go runners!  Kick Asphalt”! 

I arrived about two hours before Melissa was expected to be at mile 20, so there was a lot of cheering!  I had so much fun cheering on the runners and a lot of them pointed at my sign and grinned or thanked me for cheering.  I had to put the sign down to take a picture of this guy, though:image

Yes, that would be a dude running in I don’t even know what.  His entire body was covered in the green fabric.  This was at mile 20.  How he ran like that I have no idea.  It was insane!  There were others dressed in costume too: a few ladybugs, a pumpkin, a greek warrior type of dude, minnie mouse and some others.  I only saw one guy running completely barefoot.

A few minutes before Melissa appeared I saw  my blog buddy Amy!  She was killing it and looked awesome.  Way to go Amy!

Then I spotted Melissa!   image

She looked great but I could tell she was in a lot of pain.  I put my sign down and started to run the final 6.2 with her.  She was maintaining an awesome pace and even passing some people!  I couldn’t believe the determination that she had, despite the intense pain.  I may have told her that she couldn’t stop to walk and that her mind was just playing tricks on her 😉  There was a lot of camaraderie from the fellow runners and overall it was just so inspiring.  I think around mile 24 she said to me “are you sure you want to run a marathon next year?  This is awful!”  I told her without a doubt yes- that the pain was temporary and soon enough she would be a marathon finisher and I couldn’t wait to join those ranks next year. 

Just before mile 26 I pulled off the course and tried to run along the sidelines to get a good picture of her.  She was seriously gunning it!  I couldn’t keep up with her and she had just run 26 miles!image

She pushed through to the finish and became a marathoner!imageYay Melissa!  She seriously killed it.

Spectating the marathon has made me soo antsy to train and run one myself.  I saw the whole gamut of emotions from people around mile 20- exhilaration, exhaustion, pain, happiness, excitement, oblivion- but at the finish line every single finisher looked happy and accomplished.  Even if they were walking around a bit stiffly 😉 

If you ever have the opportunity to spectate a distance event, do it!  It will provide so much inspiration.  Witnessing the Philly marathon further cemented the fact that there is no definition of a typical runner- the age range and body types covered the whole spectrum.   To run a marathon, you need determination, spirit and heart.    That is what makes a runner. image

Congrats Melissa!  You are an inspiration to us all 😀

17 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Running, Spectating, Trader Joe's

17 responses to “Philly Marathon Spectating Recap!

  1. Awww, that’s awesome! I love reading any and all marathon recaps lately. It keeps inspiring me more and more!!

  2. Meg

    It’s Green Man from Always Sunny in Philadelphia. He has appeared at a few of my races as well 😉

    Congrats to your friend!

  3. So awesome!!! Congrats to Melissa!!

    You’re a great friend for going down there and cheering her on!

  4. Awesome report and congrats to Melissa! As if spectating the marathon wasn’t enough you got a trip to Trader Joe’s – always worth it in my book!

  5. Great report from the other side of the fence. I have been inspired by numerous bloggers this year to accomplish the marathon next year. I am so excited to get there. I want it now, but will take my time. 🙂

    Congrats to your friends Melissa & Amy.

  6. Great recap!! Congrats Melissa!!

  7. It’s GREEN MAN!! From Always Sunny in Philadelphia 🙂 Green Man! haha
    You’re an awesome friend to go cheer your friend along 😀

  8. Yay, Melissa! I’ve never been a race spectator, but I’m sure it would be fun and inspiring.

  9. lowandbhold

    That is so true, it’s the number 1 thing I notice at races. There are so many types of people out there and anyone can do it with enough heart and determination! Someday for me… someday 🙂

    Congrats to Melissa and yay for you – you will definitely rock it!

  10. How funny, Green Man is in that picture!

  11. Pam

    It broke my heart to read what that homeless man said to you. 😦

    I want to spectate a big event some day. The girl that was supposed to run the RnR Vegas marathon with me in a couple of weeks is now out with a stress fracture. She’s still coming to Vegas, though, and I’m a little bit jealous that she’ll get to be a spectator! I’d love to watch the elites come in!

  12. Congrats to Melissa!

    I ran a St. Patty’s Day run this spring, and a guy ran in that green suit too….later on I saw him at an Irish pub, and he was DRINKING a beer through the fabric! Gross!!!!

  13. Yay for Green Man! I LOVE IT!!!

    And props to your friend for finishing and still smiling, thats just awesome. Double props for your TJ’s finds, they should keep you busy for awhile 🙂

  14. I love Green Man! Sounds like you had a good time, and really helped your friend when she needed it!!

  15. Congrats to your friend! Spectating is awesome. The only problem is that sometimes I get a little jealous and I want to be running the whole race too. Haha. I’m so excited that you will be running a marathon – I can’t wait to read all about your training.

  16. Shannon

    Great recap! I am so proud of Melissa 🙂 You’re marathon will be fantastic. And remember- Green Man is saving your life right now 😀 (please watch “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”)

  17. Christina

    Wow congrats!! Funny green guy! Did you end up seeing Shannon??

Leave a Reply

