A Productive Day and a Delicious Recipe

Hello everyone!  I hope that you enjoyed Veteran’s Day and took some time to reflect on those who served and are currently serving.  I know I have 😉  Today has been incredibly productive- I wish I could have every Thursday off!  The day started with a vet appointment for Mr. B- he had his annual checkup.  The poor little guy is such a champ.  I held him when he got a shot and he didn’t even whimper!  I had to stop and get him special treats afterwards, of course! 

After the vet I headed out to get a 4 3.3 mile run in. It was a gorgeous day out today!  The weather has been a little schizo, seeing as how it was snowing buckets on Monday and I had to go back inside today to change out of my cold gear and into a long sleeved tech tee and shorts without gloves!  Although, taking off the gloves was a bad idea since I had to cut the run short- my hands were FREEZING and I was back at my house 😉  It was a great day to run though- it is cheesy but the cold air really made me feel alive! 

After the run I got to making one of the most delicious recipes I think I’ve ever made, courtesy of my friend Nicole.  I’m kind of obsessed.  Then I accompanied my dad to Fleet Feet to get him fitted for a pair of running shoes.  I am running his first 5k with him in two weeks, yippee!  I should have known better than to think I would come out of Fleet Feet empty-handed.  Nope, I walked out with this: image

A Brooks running jacket!  She is gorgeous.  I justified it because I had a $25 gift card from the store (love the loyalty points) and it fit like a glove .

Look, it even has a special spot inside for your ipod! 

image

Okay, I’ll be honest.  What really sold me was the thumbhole!image

Yes, I’m obsessed!  I can’t wait to run in it!!

After coming home from the store I hurried over to a glorious hot yoga class.  Today’s class was much better than yesterday’s if only for the fact that the creepy guy wearing only tiny shorts that gyrates his hips in circles while staring at himself in the mirror to “warm up” before class  (seriously.  I wish I was joking) wasn’t present.  It was awkward last night, to say the least!   Did you have today off?  If so, what’d ya do? 😀

Okay, so on to one of the best recipes ever.  It is a little intensive but I promise you it is worth it, especially if you like risotto and cheese.  I had it for dinner tonight and it is one of the best risotto dishes I’ve ever had, if I do say so myself 😉

Risotto Caprese

Ingredients:

  • 7-8 cups vegetable stock
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 3 cups arborio rice
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 3/4 pound fresh mozzarella
  • 3 heirloom tomatoes, diced
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, bring the stock to a gentle simmer and maintain over low heat
  2. Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the onion and sautee until soft, approximately two minutes.  Add the arborio rice and stir until each grain is well-coated, approximately three minutes.  Add the wine and stir until completely absorbed.
  3. Add the simmering stock to the rice a ladleful at a time, stirring constantly.  Once the liquid is completely absorbed (but never completely dry on top), add the next ladleful and stir, repeating until only 1/4 cup of stock is left.  Reserve the stock.
  4. Cut the fresh mozzarella into 1/2 inch pieces.  When the rice is tender to the bite but slightly firm in the center and creamy looking, remove from heat and stir in reserved stock, the mozzarella, tomatoes and basil.  Season with salt and pepper and enjoy.

image

This is so cheesy and delicious.  This recipe is definitely a keeper (even if your arm is sore from all of that stirring) ;).  Do you like risotto?  Have you ever made it?

Have a great evening friends- it’s almost the weekend! 😀

18 Comments

Filed under Bailey, Food, hot yoga, Recipe, Running, Yoga

18 responses to “A Productive Day and a Delicious Recipe

  1. J

    Cure jacket! I need to head over to my fleet feet and pick up one of those new bright yellow jackets they have so I can wear it while running in the dark!

  2. I love risotto! That recipe sounds yummy, I’m going to have to try it 🙂

  3. Jen

    LOVE the jacket!! I really should invest in one of those, as I’m assuming I’m going to have to be running outside in weather colder than right now, eventually. 😉

    • Melissa G

      Jen,
      Dicks Sporting Goods was having a sale this week on jackets. I bought a ACG Nike jacket for $70…it was orig $120. I think its water resistant on the outside & it has that soft fuzzy fleece on the inside. They have a ton of jackets but the Nike one was my fav.

  4. lowandbhold

    I’ve never made risotto, but I know I would LOVE that. YUM!

    And I love the running jacket. I need to stock up on cold gear ASAP.

  5. That looks so good!! So cheesy, yum! Love your running jacket! 🙂

  6. Jealous of your cool jacket! That risotto looks fantastic! Must make that soon!!

  7. that looks soooooooooo good!

  8. I have never made risotto. I am afraid of burning it. I can barely cook rice without a rice cooker.

  9. Ohhh pretty jacket! I too am a sucker for a thumhole, what a nifty little feature!

    I’ve only tried risotto a few times and loved it. I never made it though but have a big bag of orzo sitting in my cupboard and am always open to recipes that are cheesy/carby yummy goodness!

  10. Melissa G

    Love your jacket! I just bought something similar (Nike) but it does not have the thumb holes. I am obsessed with thumb holes too!!! LOL

    I like risotto with lots of veggies. I never actually made it myself. I may actually try your recipe. Yummy!

  11. the thumb hole is key, great jacket.

    I’ve got a box of risotto sitting in the cabinet, now I know what to make with it! : )

  12. Nicole

    So jealous that you had off on Thursday! Seems like you had a very productive day, and we all know that it was extra special for you this year. Hope Brian is doing well! Also, so happy that you tried the risotto and you were so successful with tackling the new recipe – I knew you would love it!

  13. Love the jacket!! It’s pretty bad ass looking – and I love the reflectors:)

  14. Hello my dear!

    Your wedding is now LIVE on the blog! Have had over 1000 hits in the past 3 hours since I went live, so its going very well!!!

    Please could you promote your page on the blog? I am very excited.

    Thanks for all your help – hope you like it!

    http://bridesupnorth.com/2010/11/13/katie-brian-march-27-2010/

    p.s. you can also see a sneak peek of my wedding pictures on the about, directory and wedding showcases pages!

    Julia
    http://www.bridesupnorth.com

  15. I did not have Veteran’s day off – I felt like everyone else in the world did! Boo. That dinner looks amazing. I absolutely LOVE risotto! It is a magical meal that I order every chance I get. The jacket looks awesome – I love Brooks.

  16. Love the jacket. I’m a sucker for thumbholes as well. I’ve stolen a bunch of my son’s hoodies just because they have thumbholes. So great when you’re kids outgrow you and pass on their clothes – hahaha.

    Came across your blog via Linzi. I think I’ve seen it before somewhere. Anyhow, I’ve been back-reading for about a half hour now and am hooked. You got yourself a new reader! 😉

  17. Pingback: A Running Slump | Legally Fit

Leave a Reply

