Miscellany

Good morning friends!  Another Monday morning is upon us!  Did y’all enjoy the extra hour we got from setting our clocks back?  I think it messed with my system a little; I went to sleep at 8 PM last night and didn’t wake up until 7:30 AM this morning.  Ahh, at least I can say I am well-rested now! 

This past weekend was a blast!  On Friday night I headed to the gym for the first time in MONTHS to make use of the treadmill, since it was already uber dark at 6 PM.  I did a speed/interval workout that I think is called “quarters.”  Anyway, here is what it looks like, Katie style:

  • Warm up for half a mile at desired warm up pace (for me this is 5.8 on the treadmill
  • Sprint for a quarter mile (6.9-7.1 on treadmill)
  • Recovery jog for a quarter mile (5.3 on treadmill)
  • Repeat until you reach your desired mileage- for me, I repeated five times to reach three miles.

I was a sweaty beast when all was said and done!  I usually resort to these sort of interval workouts while on the treadmill because it is so dang boring!  I am also thinking I should just purchase a treadmill.  I used to use my gym membership for classes and the like but no longer- hot yoga rules my life!  I am essentially paying $44 a month to use a treadmill a few times.  Kind of silly, eh?  Do you own a treadmill?  If so, any brands you can recommend?

I also hit up Target this weekend.  I went in to purchase the final installment in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series (The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest) and came out with the book plus a pair of jeggings and a cute pair of black shoes:

image

I couldn’t resist!  They were only $20 and I have been on the lookout for a pair of low black flats/heels/whatever.  They only had a few sizes left but mine was one of them.  I figured it was fate 😀  Do you get sucked into impulse purchases at Target?  I know I’m not the only one 😉

On Saturday and Sunday I attended my bikram yoga classes, bringing my total to four for the week.  I’m on track with my November goal of attending class at least 4-5 times a week!  The classes always kill me but I feel so awesome afterwards.  I cannot rave enough about it!  Before class on Sunday, I manged to get in three miles outside- it was a gorgeous, chilly fall day!  I listened to one song on repeat for the entire run- OAR “City on Down” live at Madison Square Garden.  It’s an awesome song to run to!  Do you have any songs that you can listen to over and over again?

Lastly, I hosted a fun jewelry party on Saturday night.  My sis in law is a Lia Sophia consultant so she came by with her yorkie, Bella.  The cat kept staring at Bailey and Bella.  You could tell she was bitter that Bailey somehow managed to multiply 😉  Some of my fave bloggies even stopped by!  A good time was had by all.  I made guacamole (3 avocados, diced onion, diced tomato, fresh lime juice, salt and pepper) and homemade macaroni and cheese.  The mac n cheese was to die for!  Definitely a worthwhile splurge 🙂  You can find the recipe I used here.

A final question for everyone- I am spectating the Philly Marathon in two weeks to cheer on my running buddy Melissa (yippee!!)  For those of you that have spectated before, any fun tips to share?  I am excited! 

How was your weekend?  Enjoy your Monday, friends!

27 Comments

Filed under hot yoga, Interval Workout, Running, Shoes, Target, Yoga

27 responses to “Miscellany

  1. I went to Target yesterday too… for a pair of shoes. The shoes, plus a book, shirt and candle later…. haha gotta love Target!

  2. I’m going to have to try your treadmill workout- just running alone is getting uber boring!! Ahh- Love your new shoes! I always leave target with way more than I planned on buying!

  3. Your treadmill workout sounds awesome. I’m going to try that out next time I tackle the treadmill. It seems like a good way to get through it.

    My tips for specating (though I have never spectated) but this is what I told my family at marathon. A big sign is always welcomed! And take lots of pictures of me running. I’m not sure what else I would want as a runner… good luck to your friend!!

    Oh and major YES on the Target question. I have never left that store without purchasing extra items. I’m a HUGE sucker for impulse buys there. Hence, I only go there when absolutely neccessary!

  4. I heard some great things about your party this weekend 🙂

    Tips for spectating: bring water + fuel for yourself…bring a fun sign…cheer LOTS (and again, bring water… lots of cheering can be hard on the throat 😉 )

  5. Ahh, I have a friend here who sells Lia Sophia! Such cute jewelry!

    I have a treadmill at home (we scored one super cheap at a garage sale), and I LOVE it! In the winter months especially, it’s nice to pound out a little run without having to venture into the snow and ice!

  6. J

    I always prefer doing an interval workout on the treadmill! Just makes the time go faster! I try to avoid Target unless I need something there because otherwise I spend way too much money!

  7. I’m in the market for a new treadmill – need to get one soon. I’ve been leaning towards a Sole, but I don’t know for sure yet. I must be the only one who can walk out of Target with nothing. I rarely find anything at Target – must be an oddball!

  8. Laura

    Same here with Target. I always spend at least $20 more than I planned. This weekend I decided that I needed another book to read and splurged on one about Cleopatra’s daughter. I justified it because it was 20% off. My treadmill, which I am SO anxiously awaiting to have up and running once we close on the house, is Proform. I got it over 5 years ago from Sear’s and it still works like a champ!

  9. lowandbhold

    Target is my kryptonite. No shame, haha!

  10. Amy

    Um … I’ll be running Philly, so maybe you should cheer for me too! 🙂

    I actually cheered this weekend at NYC. I’d say that it’s a lot more fun when you cheer for everyone that you can. People with names on their shirts are best. I tend to say something generic like “looking great,” “you’re gonna finish strong,” “keep up the good work”, etc. I also had a sign that said “Your feet hurt cuz u r kicking a@@” and people really seemed to like it.

    No matter what, you being there will be appreciated unless you just stand there on the sidelines quietly!

  11. I really like your treadmill workout, and I may be trying it out once it gets a bit colder here. I definitely need to do some speedwork in order to improve my running times.

    Ah, I love Target. Usually I leave with exercise clothes!!

  12. Love the shoes! I am an impulse shopper at Target too.

    We have a treadmill. Hmm. Now I cannot remember what brand it is! Maybe Life Fitness or something… hmm. We like it though.

    Yeah, that totally wasn’t helpful.

    Have fun spectating!

  13. I want to go to hot yoga with you again soon!! ❤ Maybe in a few weeks?

  14. Rob Bach

    So your hubby never emailed me back.

    Anyway just some fun information that I thought you might like. I found out they have a small gym in my office that rarely gets used. My buddy David and I have started doing Crossfit workouts on our lunch break and on Thursday one of the HR woman is going to try it with us. She also said she is going to order us a set of Kettlebells for our workouts. And she wants me to join the wellness team. I’m going to have a Crossfit team here before I know it. I put David through “Fran” the other day and he feel in love.

    • That’s awesome Rob! I love the fact that your company has a wellness team. Way to be.

      No worries, Bri will get back to you! They are working him to the bone over there!

  15. I have a treadmill at home that I bought at a Sears Outlet. I don’t remember the brand, but when I was looking I knew what kind of features were important (long and wide tread, a good amount of incline, a good the max speed, place to put water or remote control etc). There is a story about me buying a really crappy treadmill at an auction after a few drinks and that is definitely not the way to go. LOL

  16. So glad you had a wonderful weekend Katie! I’m so excited to live in the land of Target again, and this post makes me want to make a trip there just because I can! 🙂 Your new shoes are very cute. Have a great day!

  17. You are such an inspiration! You really make me want to work out 🙂

    And yes, I succumb to Target sales pretty much anytime I’m there. How can you resist a shirt/shoes/jacket on clearance?

    We don’t have a treadmill, but we did get an elliptical. I can’t remember the brand off hand, but I’ll check – I’m pretty sure they do treadmills too.

  18. Lee

    I think I have those shoes in brown. I think that 75% of my wardrobe comes from Target.

Leave a Reply

