Goals and Green-ness

Good morning!image

Stop taking pictures so I can sleep in peace, devil woman!

Thank you for all of your comments on my first trail race!   There really is something about running in the woods.  I definitely recommend trail running!  You do have to be on higher alert when running in the woods- constantly looking ahead of you to make sure you don’t trip over a rock, branch, your own two feet, piles of leaves and the like.  Over the summer I ran a few times on a trail near my house.  I created two rules for myself when running on the trail: 1) Never wear headphones and 2) Carry mace pepper spray.  Admittedly, I didn’t follow my second rule all the time because I didn’t have pepper spray until I purchased it at the end of summer, but no matter.  When running on the trails, you are typically alone and surrounded by only nature.  I think it is important to be on alert in case any creepers are out there looking to cause harm to someone- hence the pepper spray and lack of headphones.  Do you have any safety rules that you follow while running?  If so, please share! 🙂

Ah, so October is gone and we have two months left in the year.  Hello, November!  😀  I am typically not one to wish life away but with this deployment I am counting down the days/months gleefully.  Since it is the beginning of a new month and racing season is over, I’ve established some new goals that I would like to accomplish:

Goals: Life/Personal

  • Finish our wedding thank you cards.  I wanted to have this done by the six month mark.  I still have 25 to go.  I NEED to get this done before Christmas cards start going out.
  • Change over last name on passport/social security card.  I avoided having to get the title to my car changed by purchasing a new car.  Kidding, kidding 😀 That was a convenient side effect though.  I need to have my passport changed (it is 110 dollars to change it, dang son!) and my social and then I’ll be Katie H on everything!
  • Organize closet.  I’ve been reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubing and in the first chapter she discusses how organizing her closet helped organize her mind.  I totally need to ruthlessly go through and edit my wardrobe. 
  • Go Green.  I’ll discuss below.

Goals: Health/Fitness

  • Conquer tofu.  I would like to learn how to cook tofu at home.  I am very intimidated by it.  Namely because a lot of draining is involved and I don’t know if I will do it right.  Since I am not eating as much meat and love tofu, I need to conquer cooking it!  Any tofu recipes to share?
  • Attend hot yoga a minimum of four times a week.  Ideally I would like to go 5-6 times a week, but I am traveling a lot of the weekends this month.  If I’m not home, I can’t attend the classes.  I am very excited to focus on my yoga practice in these winter months.
  • Maintain a base mileage of 10 miles/week.  Obviously I’m not running as much as I was during training, but I’d still like to maintain some sort of base.  This way, when I start training next year I will have something to work off of!

Do you have any goals for the month of November?

So, one of the goals I mentioned was going green.  My friend and fellow blogger Jen started a really neat challenge last month:

The Green challenge!  I wanted to join last month and then saw what the challenge was- only drinking local wine and beer.  Mmm, I definitely couldn’t adhere to that- I love wine too much.  New York state does have some good wines but they just don’t compare to my Italian chiantis or my Argentinian malbecs.  The thing about Jen’s challenge that I really respect and appreciate is that the challenges actually present a challenge– I am betting it is damn hard for her to only drink locally.  Anyway, this month’s challenge is right up my alley- limiting/reducing plastic use.  Check out her post for more information, but the basic tenets are this: eliminating waste when dining out (unless you can recycle it), no plastic water bottles,  only using to-go cups with coffee/tea (this will definitely be a challenge), no plastic grocery bags, etc.  The challenge lasts for a year.  I am really excited to be on board!  Do you have any tips or tricks on how to reduce plastic use?

Thanks for reading and have a good one, friends!

26 Comments

Filed under Bailey, Goals, Green Challenge, hot yoga, I'm random, Jen is Green, Running

26 responses to “Goals and Green-ness

  1. Love all your goals. They all sound great. I’m with you on feeling like I want to wish time away. Although your reason is much more worthy!

    Tofu – I only really like it baked at home. Every time I try pan searing it or sauteeing it always comes out kind of chewy, instead of denser. I have a tofu and broccoli slaw recipe on my blog under the Top Posts page. It’s good.

  2. Tofu is really easy. Place in pasta strainer and top with plate and several heavy cans to drain while you are at work. Then do whatever you want with it. So much fun 🙂

  3. I just ordered myself a bright colored running vest. I realized that my running tights and some of my base layer stuff is dark and so to be safe, I want to have a bright vest to wear when I run and it’s still dark outside. That’s my tip. 🙂

    The green challeng sounds really cool. The name change thing isnt as awful as you think. I got to the SS office super early (first person in line) and it literally took 3 minutes and then a new card came in the mail 2 wks later. I wont make promises about your wait at the DMV though – have you gone there yet? Passport took me 5 weeks to get. Make sure you have ALL the paperwork included.

  4. I’m not sure I’m ready to venture into trail running. Maybe some day though- who knows! Great November goals! I need to be more “green” too 🙂

  5. Melissa G

    I like your goals! You are so organized and on top of everything! You’re my hero!

    My goal in November is to complete my 1st marathon. Yeah!

    I like the green challenge. I started to recycle plastics (other than soda/water bottles) at home. Every little bit helps, right?

    Love the pic of Bailey! Super cute pup!

  6. I love the idea of this green challenge!! I feel like sometimes I get so frustrated with the idea of “going green” because it seems so huge. I need to work more on breaking it into small, manageable tasks and steps.

    Tofu– love, love, love it! Be sure to press it well– I have a tofu press, and I love mine. They run about 25 bucks, but if you really like tofu, it’s totally worth it because it takes away the pain (and the waste) of stacking paper towels and pots on the tofu.

  7. You have wonderful goals Katie and I can’t wait to see how the Green Challange goes! ❤ U

  8. valgal123

    I’m intimidated with tofu to! And I’m an accomplished cook, vegetarian since birth and I still have bad luck when cooking tofu. Tofu has something against me so I can’t help you with that one. My family has been trying really hard for the last couple of years to reduce plastic. My mom and I just finished sewing produce bags out of canvas. We always use our own bags, it works really well for us. We also don’t use ziplock bags, instead we put food into a glass dish with a lid like a pickle jar, or into a wax paper bag. We do use saran wrap though, my mom would love to get rid of it, but I just really need it. We also buy tubs of spinach which is in plastic, and you can’t recycle them, crazy!

  9. J

    I haven’t had tofu since my mom went through that phase about 10 years ago. I did not like it then and I don’t know if I would feel any different about it now! I wish I could go to yoga 4x a week. There is just too many classes I want to take at the gym!

  10. Pam

    There is an awesome winery exactly 3.5 miles from my driveway. This is both wonderful and detrimental to my wallet. LOL

    And SERIOUSLY $110 just to change your name? HOLY CRAP, that has REALLY gone up! It was only like $60 when I did it just three years ago! Are you sure that’s not the fee to get a totally new passport? It should be cheaper than that if you already have a valid one and are just having it reissued…

  11. lowandbhold

    Great goals and yay for the new car! I don’t really have any goals for November, just going with the flow!

  12. I really like to bake tofu. Try pressing it and then marinating it in a mixture of soy sauce and spices and baking for about 30 minutes at 375.

  13. Tofu is really easy! Don’t be intimidated. Broil it for that perfect outside crispyness.

    I always run with headphones. I don’t think I could get myself out the door otherwise. I probably wouldn’t run on a trail by myself unless there were LOTS of other people around. I am a scaredy cat.

  14. Totally agree with you on organizing your closet… but every time I do it it gets messy again in two weeks 😦 I need to work on that!

  15. Awww your pup is so cute. Mine has the bad habit of burrowing under the covers in the middle of the night so I wake up all hot with him right next to my hip.

    Hooray for tofu! I used this recipe the first time I experimented with tofu and cannot recommend it enough:

    http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/recipes/quick-recipes/dinner/dinner-in-20-sesame-tofu-stir-fry/

    I also make tofu tacos when I have extra (just mix with taco seasoning on the stovetop)

  16. Laura

    Bailey is so cute! It looks like he’s saying “c’mon Mom, let me go back to sleep.”

  17. wow hot yoga 4 days a week, whew my muscles would be putty, but I could see how that woudl be fun in the winter for sure.

    hmm reducing plastic. I take bags to the grocery store for the bulk bins..buying from the bulk bins reduces all kinds of packaging.

Leave a Reply

