Easing Back Into It

Hi friends!  Happy Saturday to you 😀  Mine’s been relatively low-key.  I’ve been spending a bit of time with this little bumblebee:image

Bailey is a bit ashamed about his halloween costume so he refuses to look at the camera. image

Look at the little white stinger on his little butt!  heh.  He is too cute.  image

Anyway, like the title of the post suggests, I’ve been easing back into a workout routine.  The first time I worked out since the half was this past Thursday.  I attended a bikram hot yoga class (which I’ve done many times before) and it damn near killed me!  I have never sweat so much and I barely had the energy to drive home.  Granted, the class is difficult on a normal day but it just showed me that my body is still in recovery mode. 

This morning I ran for the first time since the half.  It was a standard 3.25 mile run.  I felt fine, albeit a little bored.  When I returned my toenail had reverted back to purple (it had faded since Sunday!) but overall my body feels good. 

So what now?  I have to admit, I’ve been feeling a little lost fitness-wise this past week.  I’ve read about the post-race blues on a lot of blogs, but this is the first time I’ve really felt it myself!  The half was amazing and I can’t believe that it is over and I have nothing to train for!  I’ve learned that I am a girl that likes a plan.  It is weird to look at my google calendar and not see all of my workouts planned out.  Being that I seemingly had ants in my pants from not working out this week, I developed a new plan of attack, workout wise:

Until I start training for my next race, I am going to attend hot yoga 3x a week, body sculpt 1x a week, and run 2-3x a week.  With two rest days because that’s how I like to roll.  Bri is also going to develop some sort of program for me to get me on the way to completing a pullup!  That is definitely on my list of things to achieve.  Are you a planner when it comes to fitness?

As for racing, Bri and I plan on running the Marine Corps Marathon together next October 🙂  I’ll start training for that in mid-June.  Since I want to run another half, I’m looking for one that occurs in late April/early May.  I’ll start training for that at the end of February. Other than that the only races I have going on are a six mile trail run on Halloween and possibly a 15k the following weekend.  We’ll see how I feel!

Alright peeps, I’m off to a girls night with one of my besties.  She is moving to South Carolina in less than a month, boo 😦  Don’t leave me Christina!

Oh, before I go- notice a new link at the top of the page?  I purchased a domain name!  I’m now the proud owner of legallyfitblog.com.  Woohoo! 

Have a good one y’all!

25 Comments

Filed under Bailey, hot yoga, Running, Yoga

25 responses to “Easing Back Into It

  1. I always feel kind of empty right after a big race too.

    Is the Marine Corps marathon in DC? Im still flirting with the idea of doing another marathon and my parents live in DC…

  2. I totally know how you feel about post-race blues! I always like to be training for something, or working towards some goal. After the half I wanted to take a little break from running so I did the 30 day shred. It was a good challenge and switched up my workout routine

  3. J

    I really like to have an idea of what kind of workouts I will do for the week, beyond that I don’t plan too much unless I have to due to plans. Plus planning a wedding and having to meet with vendors each week really makes me plan my week out.

  4. I have felt the post-run blues before myself, and between them and my dissertation I sort of fell of the fitness wagon for several months last year…. I think it’s smart to plan things out so that you feel like you are accomplishing things until you start training for your next race.

    Your Bailey is so cute! My Bailey would never tolerate having a costume on, which is a great disappointment to me.

  5. I pretty much just started out, so I haven’t experienced that yet – I guess everything is new because there is always another race to train for since I’m only doing short distances. I must say though, last week I pretty much planned out races & triathlons for next year, and I’m totally excited. I plan NOTHING in advance (ummm, I’m getting married next year and can’t even wrap my head around planning that) – so it’s so out of character to have already planned an entire YEAR’s race calendar already!

  6. Bailey’s costume is cute – I have a ladybug costume for our beagle! I certainly understand the post-race blues, but you’ll get back into it. It’s great that you already have a plan for next year!

  7. Oh I know how those post race blues feel!!

    I felt them after 2 of my halves and also after my marathon. I just felt so lost fitness-wise because my body seemed to take a long time to recover.

    Glad you were able to purchase your own domain!

  8. Jen

    Pittsburgh Half Pittsburgh Half Pittsburgh Half! You know you wanna run it with me!!!! 🙂

  9. Marine Corp huh?? My sis in law and I were thinking of that one too!!

  10. Nicki

    Bailey is adorable! Are you going as a flower to the bumble bee?

    I ran the Skunk Cabbage Half in Ithaca in April – second weekend I think. Come on down.

  11. lowandbhold

    I definitely had post-race blues after my half. Which led me to signing up for a full. Not sure how I feel about that right now, lol.

    Your workout goals sound great!

  12. Love that bumblebee costume!! Wish my cat would allow me to dress him up.

    I experience post-race blues for sure. After my May marathon, as you know, I hit a major slump. Having an alternative plan sounds like it will be really helpful. I’m so excited that you’re running Marine Corps next fall!! That will be amazing – I’ve heard great things!

  13. Congrats on the new blog name! Love it! Hope you had a great girls night! 🙂

  14. Ahhh, you’re dog is adorable! I love the costume 🙂

  15. Aww, Bailey, don’t be ashamed, you look cute!

    I set up a workout plan like that too, but in my head.

    I think targeting your first marathon for next October is a great idea!

Leave a Reply

