Meatless Monday- Cheddar Muffins and Santa Fe Casserole

Hello friends!  Thank you SO much for your congratulations on my half yesterday.  😀 😀 😀  I have a recap all ready to post- I am just waiting on some photos from my unofficial race photographer 🙂  I’m pretty surprised- my body isn’t as sore today once I got up and moving.  However, I’ve been a comedy of errors the past 24 hours.  It all started last night (after dealing with ischemia for a bit, good times- if you don’t know what it is, don’t look it up- just take my advice and don’t take three ibuprofen on race day when you typically taken none before a run) when Bailey woke me up in the middle of the night to go pee.  I didn’t turn on the light and walked right into a corner of the wall, smashing my nose.  Ow.  I was really disoriented from sleep so I felt it and it was crackly.  Ew.  Just the thought of it makes me want to throw up!!  😦  I think that hurts more than my half marathon soreness!  Then, while cooking dinner I got the bright idea to scoop the remaining beans out of a can using my hand.  Did you know that cans are wicked sharp?  So, here is to hoping for no more injuries in the next day!  On the bright side, it is taking  my mind off of my foot pain! 😀

On to the recipes!  This morning I woke up remembering it was Meatless Monday.  I have a delicious shrimp recipe that I was planning on making but I’m not sure if that qualifies under the category of “meat” per se.  Anyway, I played it safe and made two recipes that I found around the blogworld. 

First up:  Cheesy Corn Muffins courtesy of Joanne at Apple Crumbles.  These were SO easy to make.  Joanne’s recipe calls for a blend of italian cheese but I love me some cheddar so that’s what I used. 

The goods: you’ll need a muffin tin (for 12 biscuits) and a big mixing bowl.

Cheesy Corn Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 3 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425.  Spray muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray
  2. In a mixing bowl combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt and baking powder.  Make a well in the middle (sidenote- make the “well” pretty deep)
  3. Add the milk, oil and egg to well.  Stir to incorporate.  Do not use an electric mixer. 
  4. Mix in cheese and stir
  5. Spoon mixture into tins and bake for 15 minutes.
  6. Makes 12 muffins

cheddar biscuit

Then, try to limit yourself to just one.  I had two.  Yum!

Of course, I needed something more substantial than a mini cheddar muffin for dinner.  Enter: Caitlin’s Santa Fe Casserole recipe.  I had flagged this a while back and I had a lot of time to plan meals today (woohoo for a day off!) so it was the perfect time to try it. 

Santa Fe Casserole

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 T chopped fresh garlic
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 T chili powder
  • 1/2 T pepper
  • 1 can red kidney beans, rinsed
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 cups brown rice
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 small green pepper, diced

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Then, cook the brown rice according to package directions.  Set aside to incorporate later
  3. Spray casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray
  4. Add olive oil to skillet over medium high heat, add onion and garlic until it softens.  Add chili powder and salt to skillet, stir and remove from heat
  5. In large mixing bowl, add two eggs, milk, beans, green pepper, pepper, cheddar cheese and cooked brown rice
  6. Stir in garlic and onion mixture
  7. Pour entire mixture into casserole dish and bake for 25 minutes
  8. Serve and enjoy!

santafecass

I thought that this dish was very good but prep-intensive.  I would recommend it for sure!  Especially if you sprinkle some leftover cheddar cheese on top 😉  Eat this dish with a cheddar muffin and much happiness will ensue 🙂

Again, thank you so much for all of your sweet and supportive comments about my race.  Y’all are too kind 😀  Before I sign off- I have exciting news!!  My dad started the Couch to 5k program TODAY!  Yay dad!!   I am dragging him to We are going to run a Turkey trot on Thanksgiving- his first EVER race.  Woohoo!  Does anyone in your family run?  My mom recently finished the Couch to 5k 😀

See you tomorrow with my recap 🙂  Good night!

11 Comments

Filed under Meatless Monday

11 responses to “Meatless Monday- Cheddar Muffins and Santa Fe Casserole

  1. My dad used to run. In fact, we ran a half-marathon together 5 years ago. My mom has done that Avon walk, but she’s not a runner.

    I hope your nose feels better!

  2. Look at all the happy faces in this post! Isn’t it funny how we can be such hazards to ourselves in our homes yet fine with the running! Great recipes, I’m bookmarking both – thanks!

  3. Yay for Legally Fit Dad!! 🙂 I’ve been trying to get my family to run but they just aren’t into it. The closest I have gotten is my little brother who runs from time to time but he hasn’t fallen in love with it like I have! Oh well – Thanks for the awesome recipes. They all sound delish. And yay for no leg soreness. That is great!! 🙂

  4. Cheddar makes everything better! Sorry had to say it because it is true for me and my fam 🙂 That is super awesome your family is getting into the running; however I am not surprised because I know you are inspiring them! 🙂 Both those recipes look so yummy! Thanks for sharing them.

  5. Yeah to Legally Fit Dad!!!!

    SO funny that you didn’t really hurt from the race but you hurt yourself after 🙂

    Take care of yourself and relax!

  6. wiseeats

    Katie! Congrats on the Half Marathon! Also, so excited you jumped on the Meatless Monday train! 🙂 The cheddar muffins sound so good. I have been looking for ways to jazz up my cornbread — this sounds like a good idea! Looking forward to reading more! 🙂

  7. Boy do I know about those sharp cans. Sharp pumpkin cans to be exact! I sliced my finger up last weekend. 😦 Sorry about your injuries. Just remember- you’re a half marathoner!!

  8. Looks yummy! I do not take ibuprofen or any pain med before I run – I learned the hard way when I took some before a long run and had the worst stomach cramps of my life. Eek!

  9. Glad you enjoyed the muffins. I like the cheddar idea.

    Congrats on your race. Good for you!

  10. lowandbhold

    Both recipes look great and yay for your Dad! That’s exciting!

  11. Laura

    This sounds amazing! I will definitely be giving it a whirl!

Leave a Reply

