A Meatless Monday Recipe (on a Wednesday)

Hi friends!  Welcome to a meatless Monday recipe.  No matter that it is Wednesday.  I’m a rebel, what can I say?  😉  Actually, I really did make this meal on Monday but I’m a wee bit behind in posting.   So what exactly is meatless Monday?  It is an initiative that was started to reduce meat consumption and increase our health and well-being.  I’m down with that.  Well, at the very least, I’m down with not eating meat produced in the horrifying factory conditions that has become of the meat industry. 

I follow a mainly pescetarian diet with the occasional red meat thrown in once a week or so.  My personal belief is that we are meant to eat meat (I think- I’m still struggling with this), just not the meat produced in the conditions big industry puts forth.  Ultimately, I would like to only eat grass-fed, local beef.   Are you a vegetarian/vegan?  If so, what pushed you in that direction?  Do you feel better/healthier?

That was my long-winded way of saying that I am going to be participating in meatless Mondays from here on out (unless I uh, forget that it is Monday or something).  So without further adieu, here is my first meatless Monday meal (oh alliteration, I heart thee):

Penne with Eggplant, Tomatoes and Mozzarella

  • 1 box whole wheat penne
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 medium eggplant (approximately 1 1/4 pound), cut into half inch pieces
  • 1 carton cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1/4 t crushed red pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 pound fresh mozzarella, cut into 1/2 in pieces
  • 1/4 cup torn fresh mint basil leaves (the original recipe calls for mint; I had fresh basil on hand and it worked well)

Directions

  1. Cook the pasta and reserve 1/4 cup of the water.  Drain the pasta and return to pot
  2. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat
    Add eggplant to oil.  Cook, stirring occasionally until golden brown and tender- ~ 8-10 minutes.  Tip- I read this after the fact in a magazine- to make the eggplant less absorbent, pour salt over it and then rinse off.  Once water beads on eggplant, pat eggplant dry.  This makes the eggplant less spongey and it won’t soak up the oil as quickly.
  3. Add tomatoes, garlic, crushed red pepper, salt and pepper.  Stir until tomatoes soften- ~ 3 minutes
  4. Add tomato mixture to pasta, along with fresh mozzarella and basil.  Stir and enjoy.


This recipe was yummy and fairly easy to make.   I really enjoyed it.  My parents and brother were also big fans.  I was hesitant to include the red pepper, but it adds a nice bite to the dish.  I will definitely be making it again!  You can find the original recipe here.   Do you have a vegetarian dish that you can share?  If so, hook a girl up!  😀

Okay friends, I’m out.  Stay tuned for a posts involving my Girls on the Run involvement and my adventures in meal planning (hint: it is very scientific and looks a little something like this):

 Enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

19 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon, Meatless Monday, Recipe

19 responses to “A Meatless Monday Recipe (on a Wednesday)

  1. lowandbhold

    I was a vegetarian for almost a year. I still rarely eat meat but I didn’t want the label, it was too limiting. I love eating meatless meals though and that looks great!

  2. That is a very delicious looking recipe! I think you and I are on the same page with the meat thing. Have a great day! 🙂

  3. Pam

    Mint sounds weird in that recipe anyway!!! Mint??? With garlic??? Good call on switching it out for basil!

    I’ve been doing meatless Mondays (actually shooting for 3 days a week!) for a while now and completely blew it first thing this Monday morning. I wasn’t thinking and I grabbed the last slice of leftover pizza out of the fridge for breakfast. The SAUSAGE AND PEPPERONI pizza.

    Does it still count if it was leftovers from the weekend? Nobody said anything about meatless Saturday or Sunday.

    • I thought mint was weird too!

      LOL I would totally do the same thing that you did without even thinking about it. That’s why I qualified my statement above 😀

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Meatless Monday Recipe (on a Wednesday) « -- Topsy.com

  5. yummmers!! last week was my first attempt at just roasting eggplant and I loved it….pretty much made a dish like you described.

    hmm a good and easy veggie dish, i think i posted my easiest ones last week

    • I was just introduced to eggplant this year- I love it! Well, I hate peeling it but that’s beside the point 😉

      I’ll check out your recipes- thanks Amanda!

  6. YUM!

    I have a “Healthy Helper” recipe on my sidebar, that you can substitute “meatless” crumbles for instead of ground meat. It’s so good.

  7. Well, you saw what I just posted on maybe eating fish. I still don’t know, so I’m somewhere between vegetarian and occasionally eating fish.

  8. Nicki

    This looks delicious! I have a ton of vegetarian recipes but my kids bawk at eating just vegetarian. Currently, the freezer here is full of venison (so not really red meat but game?) and fish that my son and my sister’s SO have caught. I think I could go without buying anything but sides for some time.

    I love your meal planning. I have to say that on several occasions I have muttered why isn’t there a meal plan to go with my training plan. It would make life so much easier.

  9. Meatless meal looks delish! I have been trying for over a year to consume less meat, but with a husband who is a meat and potatoes kind of guy – it gets tough. He does love fish, so we have been eating way more of that. I too wish I could always be eating the grass-fed local meat as well, but my husband does the grocery shopping (because he has a car and can carry it up 5 flights of stairs), so I don’t always get what I want.

    P.S. – So excited that your half marathon is this weekend! I’ll be thinking of you.

  10. Yay for meatless monday or wednesday! I am down with both! Your meal looked scrumptious! 🙂 And yay for Girls on the Run!! 🙂

  11. Brian

    Katie is going to kill me, but a great new book came out … The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf. Its a funny read but throws a lot of notions out the window. Yes, grains are bad for you, but he explains why and it makes sense and give you vegetables and fruits instead! Pick it up for another view. Importantly, it is not a crazy fad diet there are no portion controls, just some basic rules that most of you already seem to follow. Yes, you have to cut out grains, but you get to keep red wine and 85% dark chocolate.

    P.S. – Good luck this weekend on your half Katie!!

  12. I’m almost vegan. And I did it because of all of the abuses in the meat, egg and dairy industries. And also because I’m completely disgusted by what is being put into our food (hormones, antibiotics, random other toxic stuff) as well as by what ends up in the food as a result of abuses (pus, antibiotics, etc).

Leave a Reply

