Double Digits!

Hi friends!  When I started running in June 2009, the 5k distance seemed like it was the longest distance ever.   And it was, considering that I couldn’t run for more than a minute without gasping for breath.  After I finished my first 5k, I was hooked.  I had to cut back slightly on running from IT band issues but I signed up for a Turkey Trot and definitely had the race bug.  It’s been less than a year since my first 5k, and I am now confident that I will be able to rock my first half-marathon next month.  Why, you ask?  I ran my first double digit run EVER 🙂  Ten miles, baby!  I woke up this morning feeling nervous.  I had run the Boilermaker (9.3 miles) but that was back in July and it was my longest run to date.  Up to the Boilermaker, my longest training run was eight miles.  I knew I could get ten done but it didn’t stop the nervousness.

After eating a graham cracker with maple peanut butter I headed over to the park with my garmin fully charged and my iPod loaded with a bunch of new tunes I purchased last night (Jessie’s Girl anyone? haha). The weather was absolutely GORGEOUS.  High 60s/low 70s with virtually no humidity.  The loop I run is 1.75 miles so I figured I would run around that three times, stop at my car for a water refill/gu stop and then finish the run going in the opposite direction. 

The path was crowded but not too much so.  I love the camaraderie of other runners- always a friendly smile and wave or head nod.  The local high school track team was practicing. If you want to feel old and slow, run while the high school athletes are practicing :p .  I maintained a decent clip and stopped at my car at 5.25 miles.  The chocolate mint gu is seriously so delicious and I was looking forward to it the whole first half of the run.  As of late I’ve noticed that when I am running and then stop for a minute the sweat starts pouring out.  Does this happen to anyone else? 

I finished out the rest of the run going in the opposite direction, which changed it up a bit.  The last mile and a half the bottoms of my feet were starting to ache, but nothing crazy.  Once the garmin hit ten I stopped and laid down on the grass under a tree.  Am I the only one that fantasizes about plopping down on the grass during a run?  haha.  I started to stretch but stopped when I discovered a bunch of ants crawling all over me.  Yikes.

10miles

Ten miles done and done!

10mileg

Total time: 1:47:23

Pace- 10:45/mile

Splits:

  • Mile 1: 10:30
  • Mile 2: 10:34
  • Mile 3: 10:33
  • Mile 4: 10:45
  • Mile 5: 10:48
  • Mile 6: 10:53
  • Mile 7: 10:45
  • Mile 8: 11:01
  • Mile 9: 11:01
  • Mile 10: 10:36

I’m looking to finish my first half under 2:30, and I’m thinking I can do it with these numbers!

I came home and stretched, had a delicious everything bagel egg sandwich and then had my first ice bath!  Holy crap it was freezing!  I went in the tub with my running gear on and I could literally feel my legs constricting.  They were especially tight in my calf/ankle area.  I’m hoping that this means I won’t be as sore tomorrow!  I got used to the temperature after about two minutes and *almost* felt comfortable. 

I have had the runner’s high all day.  This is why I love running so much!  The feeling you get from a great run is just amazing 😀 

After relaxing I decided to take my vibrams on their maiden voyage (while wearing my compression sleeves) and took Bailey for a walk in them.  That must have been a sight for sore eyes, let me tell ya.  The neighbors probably think I’m loco 😀  They’re probably right. 

vffs

I’m off to bake cookies for my soldier 🙂  Stop by Heather’s blog to congratulate her- she PRed in a race today!  Tomorrow my blog friend Molly will be running her first marathon-I’ll be sending happy marathon vibes her way!  Good night peeps!

22 Comments

Filed under Running, Vibram Five Fingers

22 responses to “Double Digits!

  1. I love the look. I thnk I might have the same thing only my feet are covered in tie dye toe socks with flip flops 🙂

  2. Congrats on the double digit! That is so exciting! And I had to laugh at the pic of the compression socks with the vibrams. A true runner though would not think you are crazy. I loved it! 🙂

  3. Yay for ice baths! A necessary evil. I should look into compression socks…

  4. Oh my gosh- that’s amazing! I would love to get there some day. You’ll rock your half 🙂

  5. Pam

    Good for you!!! I did 10 today too but TOTALLY bombed it. I was scheduled for 13. Last night weather.com showed it was supposed to be 67 and mostly cloudy at 8:00 this morning, so for ONCE I didn’t set the alarm for pre-dawn. I woke up at 7:00 to clear blue skies and almost 80 degrees. By the time I got out there I had missed the early-morning shade. I made it eight miles and walked the last two home. I was D-O-N-E. I’ve run 10 miles twice before training for HMs, and this was the worst one yet.

    There’s always next weekend!

  6. wiseeats

    Katie! Congrats! Such a huge milestone! Impressive 🙂 Way to go…. it’s been about 1.5 years since I’ve run double-digit distance regularly on weekends, and I’m trying to get back into it….I’m in the not-so-fun stages. 😦 How do I keep going to build back up to the double digits? Any tips for getting back into running? Right now, 3 miles is just enough…

    • Definitely! I ran a 14k in February and then got sick in March/had the wedding/went on my honeymoon so my mileage severely dropped. The best thing to do in my opinion is sign up for a race! If you have a bit of a base mileage (ie, if you’re running 3-4x a week 3 miles at a time) I would sign up for a 15k around 8-10 weeks away and follow one of Hal Higdon’s training plans. I did that, ran a 15k in July, took two weeks off and then started half marathon training with my long runs starting at 5 miles. You can definitely do it! It just takes dedication and time 🙂

  7. Congrats!!! I remember my first double digit run– it feels like such a big moment!!!

  8. Julie

    Hi Katie,
    Woo hoo! Ten miles…done! I ran my first ten miles last year in September too. I remember how excited I was and how wonderful it felt to finish:) Great job Katie…you are ready for that half marathon!

  9. Congrats on double digits! So exciting!

  10. Woo hoo, double digits! You will definitely be able to run the half marathon in less than 2:30 with those mile splits.

  11. Jen

    awesome job katie!!! congrats on the 10 miler! I’m getting so excited for the half marathon! my 10 miler is in 2 weeks. ahhh!

    about the sweating thing, that happens to me too! I always wondered why!!

  12. Whoo hoo! Pretty soon, you’ll decide you want to double your ten. 😉

    Vibrams are so cool!! Seriously, every time I see someone in them, I want to stop and ask them questions.

  13. GO KATIE!!! That is awesome 🙂 I’m so excited for you! That is too funny about the ants. That would have got me up quickly too! Have a great night baking for your soldier! ♥

  14. Way to go on your first 10 miler!! that’s awesome…and I often look at the shady spot of grass and dream about laying down while I’m running:)

  15. Wow, you are really rocking the running these days! That’s an awesome pace, too. I’m so excited for your half!

    And yeah, that sweat thing happens to me all the time, especially down here. It’s nuts!

  16. Pingback: Guest Post Series- The Many Faces of Running- Lee «

  17. thanks for the good vibes!

    Great job on your 10 miler!!

    When I do my ice baths, I wear a ski cap so I don’t get too cold, but I think they really help!

  18. lowandbhold

    Awesome job breaking into the double digits! You’re going to kill that half!

  19. Wow double digits! How amazing!! I can’t even imagine the feeling 🙂 great work!

  20. Congrats on your first double digits run! You rocked it! 🙂 I love that runner’s high and being around other runners 🙂

  21. Welcome to the double digits!

Leave a Reply

