Guest Post Series- The Many Faces of Running- Linzi

Hello and happy Friday friends!   I am glad that you guys enjoyed reading about Nicki and her running journey.  A lot of interesting and thought-provoking comments gave me great ideas for a future post, but that is for a later time.  Today I am honored to introduce you to Linzi, a fellow runner who is training for her first marathon.  She is SO inspiring and I wish that we lived closer to one another- we would definitely partake in many wine nights together!  😀  One of these days I’ll have to make it out to Idaho!  The photo of her running below is simply breathtaking- I want to run there!   Here’s Linzi!

—–

Hello my name is Linzi and you can find me rambling and running over at Destination 26.2. I was excited when Katie asked for guest bloggers as it an honor to write for her. Katie and I share a love for running, drinking wine and men in uniform! LOL – but seriously I am excited to share a little bit of my marathon story with you today. Thanks Katie!
 

 
The idea to run a marathon sort of hit me like a ton of bricks. I had only been running for 6 months when I decided that I was going to embark on such an adventure. But that’s The Linz for ya, a girl with big goals. But I knew if I made the goal I would accomplish it.
 
So I am here today to tell you that if I can run a marathon YOU can too!
 
When I first made the announcement to my family and friends they were happy for me but too realized that I just declared I would run 26.2 miles. At the time my longest run was only a 5k.
 
But that’s the thing, I didn’t worry about the fact I had only been running for 6 months and I that I had no clue what was even involved in running a marathon.
 
I decided I would have a Just Do It attitude. Which is so fitting considering I ended up picking the Nike Women’s Marathon as the race I would train for.
 
I picked my race almost a year out to give me time to mentally and physically prepare. I told everyone I knew that I was going to run a marathon as a way to hold myself accountable. And I even started my blog as a way to document my journey along the way. I never let the negative thoughts set in that I couldn’t do this.
 
Okay, so I haven’t actually ran the marathon yet – but in merely a month I will be able to say that I did!
 
I basically became a marathon runner overnight, or so it feels that way. I didn’t have a core group of friends who were already running and training for these kinds of races so I knew needed something else to keep me motivated while training. I joined forces with Team in Training as way to make new running friends and to run my first marathon with others who maybe were new at it too.
 
Another cool thing about joining Team in Training is the fact that you fundraise for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. So not only are you running for yourself, but doing something bigger than that for a great cause. I have personally raised $3600 for the cause and couldn’t be more excited about it.
 
Training for a marathon has been a lot of hard work.
 
I have had to go to bed early every friday night in order to make it on my long saturday morning runs. I have had to resist the urge to drink wine on MANY occasions. And I have even forgone any cute clothing shopping and declared my love for all things spandex.
 
I know it sounds rough, but it’s truly been an amazing experience thus far.
 
I have pushed myself and my body in ways I never even knew were possible. The first time I did my 10 mile run I almost cried as I realized that I was really doing this.
 
My marathon story is more than just a girl who is training to run 26.2 miles or is raising money for a great cause, it’s of a girl who has overcome HUGE mental & physical obstacles and has embraced her body for what it is capable of doing not what it looks like.
 
In the back of my mind I started training for this race as way to get in shape, honestly I have not lost a single pound but have gained a wealth of self-esteem!
 
So take it from me, that girl who roughly a year and a half ago put on running shoes for the very first time – that ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE! You are stronger than you think and you truly can do anything you put your mind to.
 
If you have any questions about training for a marathon or just want to follow me as I cross the finish line of my first marathon I would love for you to stop by Destination 26.2 and say hello!

——-

Thanks so much for sharing your story, Linz!  Isn’t she incredibly inspiring?  I love to follow along with her training and will be cheering for her from afar once she crosses the finish line in San Francisco.   Linzi, you are amazing!

If you want to write a guest post for The Many Faces of Running Series, please feel free to email me at FitToWed at gmail dot com.  I’d love to have you!

Have a fantastic weekend everyone!

10 Comments

Filed under Running, The Many Faces of Running

10 responses to “Guest Post Series- The Many Faces of Running- Linzi

  1. Nicki

    Way to go, Linzi! You will totally rock your marathon next month!

  2. Pingback: Guest Bloggin’ « Destination 26.2

  3. Great post! I love Linzi’s story, attitude and dedication!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Guest Post Series- The Many Faces of Running- Linzi « -- Topsy.com

  5. Linzi, I’m so honored to be your friend in real life and to be able to see you as much as I do. And I’m so excited about where you’ve been able to take your blog!

    I know I’ve told you before, but I’ll say it again…I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!

    Great first guest post, sister 🙂

  6. Jayme Hoff

    Way to go Linzi!!! You are awesome girl! You are going to kick that marathon’s arse…we all are! Looking forward to running with you at Nike matey =)

  7. Love your posts Linzi, as a new runner I find you super motivating 😀

  8. hi Linzi. good to see u overhear and read about ur journey! as always, u inspire me!!!
    keep up the good work. twin!

  9. Loved your guest post Linzi! That is really interesting you live in Idaho. If you don’t mind me asking what part of Idaho do you call home? Only if you are comfortable revealing that online. There are some beautiful areas I have visited.

  10. Thanks Wendy. I’m a Boise girl! I have definitely realized over the years how beautiful Idaho really is. The pic of me above is running through The Sawtooth mountains. I hadn’t been there before that race and was floored by the magnificence we were running through!

Leave a Reply

