Your Eat Pray Love “Word” & Wardrobe Challenge Day 12

Hello friends!  Thank you so much for the birthday wishes.  I had a fantastic weekend with my girls on Long Island.  After an interesting train ride (ha), we shared some authentic wood-fired pizza with fried eggplant on it.  Yum!  Saturday was my actual birthday and I started the day/28th year out right with a seven mile run 😀  I can’t even believe that I just wrote that.  If you had told me a year or two ago that not only would I voluntarily run seven miles on my birthday but actually consider it one of the highlights of the day (among many highlights) I would have laughed and laughed.  I love the “new” me. 

I tried a new fuel source during the run- chocolate mint gu.  I received a free sample from my local running store and figured why not try it?  I flippin’ LOVE it.  It tasted like chocolate syrup and the texture didn’t bother me at all.  I recommend drinking a lot of water with it, because it was a little thick. 

One of my fave bloggers, Tina, had a birthday yesterday.  She wrote this great post saying that “you know you’re a healthy living blogger when..” and listed all of the health related items that she wanted for her birthday.  I received some AWESOME gifts for my birthday- 10 hot yoga classes from my stepmom, a hot yoga outfit from my bestie Kristin, an entire lululemon outfit (crop pants, sports bra and tank) from Bri AND a gift card to lululemon from my friends Nicole and Alicia.  Fitness related much?  Nicole and Alicia also let me know that there was a lululemon store less than FIVE minutes from Nicole’s house on Long Island AND the store was hosting a free yoga class Sunday morning.  Awesome birthday gift, eh?  Kristin and I skeddadled over there Sunday morning for a fantastic yoga class and I then spent my gift card on an awesome pair of running shorts.  By the way, I love the word awesome, if you couldn’t tell.  I wish there was a lululemon store in the area.  I would definitely try to work there.  And spend my entire paycheck there.  Anyway.

Today is day 15 of the wardrobe challenge.  Woohoo, HALFWAY DONE.  I am proud that I have stuck with it.  Saturday (Day 12) I didn’t get a full length picture:

My own personal version of sex and the city- Me, Nicole, Alicia & Kristin.  Love these girls!  Outfit:

  • Yellow tank- Banana Republic
  • Black cardigan- J. Crew
  • Skinny jeans- Express
  • Black pumps- Aldo
  • Necklace- Lia Sophia

On Sunday we had a suprise baby shower for Alicia (she is having a little girl in December!) complete with Crumbs cupcakes.  Overall, it was an amazing  weekend 🙂

Holy ginormous cupcakes!  I definitely dominated the peanut butter cup cupcake in the bottom right corner.  Amaze. 

Last week I wrote about Eat Pray Love and asked you what one word you thought defined you.  I loved the responses:

I loved the words you guys selected!   They are all positive and demonstrate a thirst and passion for life.  I’ve been trying to come up with a word for myself and although I don’t want to limit myself to one word, I think I have it.  Effervescent.  For whatever reason, that word happened to pop into my head.  I googled the definition:

1. To emit small bubbles of gas, as a carbonated or fermenting liquid. Uh, no.

2. To escape from a liquid as bubbles; bubble up. Nope again.

3. To show high spirits or animation. YES.  

I don’t think I am like this all the time, but it is something that I strive towards.  Not necessarily to be animated but to appreciate life and radiate positivity.  To be happy.  Although when I eat something that is particularly delicious I tend to get a little animated.  So, for now, I am choosing my word to be effervescent.  Like Molly said, I think we are constantly evolving.  So who knows what my future word will be 😉

Tonight I have a run with Jen (wahoo) and then I’m meeting up with some peeps at a coffee shop.  Do you guys have any fun plans for the week?  Thank you for reading and enjoy your Tuesday!

26 Comments

Filed under Eat Pray Love, Fitness, I'm random, lululemon, Running, self-awareness, Uncategorized, Wardrobe Challenge

26 responses to “Your Eat Pray Love “Word” & Wardrobe Challenge Day 12

  1. I’m so glad you had a wonderful birthday weekend!! You are doing such a great job on your challenge, and I love your word choice 🙂 Have a great day!

  2. omg i want some lulumon clothes SO BAD!!! the store i went in in NYC didn’t even have a sale rack! ouch!! haha. 😉

  3. lowandbhold

    Great word! Glad you had a good b-day celebration!

  4. J

    Sounds like an awesome birthday weekend!! You got some good presents!!

    I hate how the whole missing mileage thing sometimes bothers me. Its weird. I try to listen to my body and base my runs on that, but sometimes my brain just wants to see the larger numbers!

  5. Happy birthday…a little late. 🙂

  6. Effervescent…love it!!! Hehe.

    Glad you had such a fabulous birthday. And score on all those gifts. Nice stuff! Or should I say awesome stuff? I use awesome a ton too. I’m actually surprised I didn’t type it first. LOL

    For the past couple months I have been craving a fancy cupcake. That picture isn’t really helping matters. 😀

  7. YAY – glad you had a nice weekend! Holy crumbs cupcakes – they are amazing. It sounds like a great trip and like everyone who got you gifts knows you very well. 🙂 Did you like the movie?

  8. Nicole

    So glad that you had such a nice birthday weekend, it was great to be together again. I love the plug on “my own personal version of sex and the city”! It was a great weekend, and I can’t wait to do it all again soon 🙂

  9. your birthday weekend sounded absolutely perfect!

    And from what I’ve learned about you through your blog, the word effervescent definitely suits you!!

    I’ve got to find some of that chocolate mint GU!

  10. wiseeats

    Hi Katie! Loved this post. It’s so positive and I love the word you chose for yourself — effervescent — such a great word! It sounds like you had a great birthday. Happy belated! 🙂

  11. It’s all about those cupcakes. They look soooo good. Glad you had a great birthday.

  12. I so miss having girls time, just haven’t found that group in miami yet.

    What a great choice of a word for yourself!!

  13. Happy Birthday.

    My word is “evolving”

  14. Those cupcakes look so good. I think my word is “laugh.” Don’t even know if that makes sense but that is my word today. 😛

  15. Happy belated birthday! I’m totally late but I think your challenge is flippin fabulous- so cool!

    I have to agree with you- we are always evolving and growing and that’s pretty awesome.

  16. I’m glad you had such a great birthday! Usually, the only sweet I go for is ice cream, but those cupcakes look amazing!

    I’m running with a friend this evening, and tomorrow I’m going to see a friend of a friend’s band play at a local bar. I might try to squeeze the state fair in as well, but I’m working against a deadline on a project so I’ll have to see where that stands.

Leave a Reply

