Twenty-eight

This weekend marks the official time when I can definitely no longer refer to myself as being in my mid-twenties.  It is even debatable whether one can get away with that as a 27-year-old.  After the illustrious 21st birthday, there seems to be an undercurrent of dread among women as they get older.  “Don’t remind me how OLD I am getting,” “I can’t believe I am almost 30,” “Wait until you turn 40- it’s all downhill” and so on and so on. 

I, on the other hand, have come to embrace aging.  Which is easy for me to say, as I am still very young at *almost* 28.  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become more comfortable with myself and have realized what truly matters.  What I mean is that I know what makes me happy and what does not.  I don’t think twice about declining offers that don’t appeal to me. I don’t waste my time on relationships that are toxic or superficial.  I treat my body properly and don’t commit to things if I don’t have the time or inclination.  This may sound selfish but ultimately, one has to do what is best for them and those they care for.  Time is a valuable resource and I want to spend mine doing things that is good for my mind, body and soul.  For me, that means (in no particular order): spending time with my family and friends, running, practicing yoga, working on my career, reading and playing with my pup, to name a few.  What priorities do you direct/want to direct your energies to?

I’m not sure how old I was when I came to this realization, that being that if I do what makes me happy, I will in turn be a better person to be around.  Probably some time during law school where there was pressure to go out and drink and party like we were all still in college.  Quite frankly, I was over that scene. There is definitely a time and place for it (college roommate reunion this weekend, perhaps?) but to me, it is played out. 

Whereas during my younger years I would have given in and gone out because it was the “cool” thing to do, at some point I became comfortable with my own company.  A prime example of this that sticks out in my mind happened right after the bar exam.  “Everyone” was going out to celebrate at the bars.  I was exhausted and just wanted to curl up with the new Harry Potter book that had been staring at me since its arrival midway through the bar studying season (July 2007 sooo the last book!).  Before, I would have just sucked it up and went out, not really enjoying myself.  Instead, I told my friends to have fun and happily went home to curl up on the couch with HP all night.  This may sound anti-social, and I’m cognizant of that.  I also know that anti-social is something that I am not.  I still think about that insignificant choice and smile; I had taken the most grueling exam of my life and all I wanted to do was read.  So read I did. 

I guess my point is to do what makes you happy.  It isn’t selfish.  Know that who you are enough and that your own company is enough.  If you want to go read a Harry Potter book while everyone else is partying, do it. 

What are your thoughts on aging?

 This post went in a totally different direction than I intended.  I originally set out to focus on all of the wonderful (and some not so wonderful) things my twenty-seventh year has brought me.  Anyway.  The last year of my mid-twenties was nothing short of amazing.  27 meant:

 What will 28 bring?

  • A permanent reunion with my husband 😀
  • My first half-marathon
  • My first marathon?
  • The barefoot running experience:

Happy Birthday to meeeee  (courtesy of my lovely mother in law)

Bailey isn’t sure what he thinks of them.   

Hello, late twenties.  I can’t wait to see what you have to offer.

31 Comments

Filed under I'm random, self-awareness, Vibram Five Fingers

31 responses to “Twenty-eight

  1. Jen

    I totally chose reading HP instead of going out to the bars, too. 🙂

  2. HAPPY 28 Katie!! I love this post and all the insight in it! You’re awesome and have an amazing outlook on life! Enjoy the celebration this weekend! I’ll be thinking of you 🙂

  3. Lee

    Happy Birthday.

    I know it sounds sort of cliche, but I have felt so much more comfortable in my skin as I’ve gotten older. (I’m 32). A lot of it is what you are saying, I don’t feel pressure to be cool or seen a certain way; I just do what I want and what makes me happy.

  4. Happy birthday!! I don’t know, I turned 29 in May and it’s been kind of scary…I guess what is worse is how old my mom is getting (I know 50’s not that old (did I just say that)) but it’s just crazy!

  5. Pam

    I love it! My 28th and 29th birthdays really bothered me, but 30? Not in the least. I have embraced it completely! 🙂

  6. My bday is Monday and I’ll be heading to the upper 20s too. I love it!!! I guess its because most of my friends are already 30 and I’m the “young” one. Plus, I look so much younger than my age so it’s always nice to be able to tell people “No, I’m not just graduating highschool”.

    I also think its so great to recognize the ways we change for the better over the years. I know I wouldn’t want to go back to 21!

  7. Christina

    Finally! I can post on here! Stupid computer! Anyways, love the post! Must be crazy to think how different you view the world now compared to when you were 13! 😉 Congrats on all you accomplished when you were 27! You accomplished more than most people do in 5 years! Here’s to being 28 and to turning 29 before your bestie! 😉

  8. Christina

    i meant to say here’s to being 28 and turning 28 before your bestie! haha

  9. Happy birthday lady!! I hope you have a great weekend. I love this post. I do the same thing these days – if I’m not feeling excited about the idea of doing something, I don’t. I still have friends who try to guilt me into things, but I’m not as quick to give-in anymore.

    Umm – those shoes look creepy! And yet, I sort of want to try them. Heheh

  10. Oh, I’m jealous of your five fingers! I want to try those out.

    I hope you have a marvelous weekend and can celebrate entering your “late twenties” with gusto.

  11. Love those Vibrams – 5 fingers! Is there any padding at all inside them?

    As for aging, I’ve definitely learned to live healthier with every year. I was still out late partying, afraid I”d miss something when I was 30.
    And now, every year presents a new physical challenge which means I have to take better care of myself than the year before. It’s truly beautiful that we can get older AND healthier.

  12. Happy birthday! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    This was a fantastic post. I completely agree about the importance of being comfortable with your own company. In the past few years, my priorities have shifted a lot. (They are quite similar to yours: work, exercise, family, a dog also named Bailey.) I still enjoy the occasional bender or night out dancing, but now I’m much more likely to have a glass of wine while reading on the couch after a meal that my husband and I prepare together.

  13. J

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! What a great gift from your MIL!! I am a little nervous about getting older because I don’t want my body to break down and slow down. I am looking forward to growing older because its natural and with each age comes so many new things!

  14. Happy birthday!! I’m not a fan of aging but I try to put it out of my mind because dwelling about it isn’t going to make it stop.
    I’m loving the fivefingers! I definitely want to hear what you have to say about them because I’ve been thinking about trying out a pair myself.

  15. Happy birthday!!! I’m a fellow lawyer/fitness blogger and totally remember the agony of waiting till after the bar exam to read the last Harry Potter – that was all I wanted to do, too!

  16. Beautiful post, Katie. I’m the same way with aging. Bring it on!

  17. woooooot yeah for getting older!!! Happy birthday and seriously life only gets better because we finally know we are in control of how we feel and what we choose to do

  18. Pingback: More Than: Katie of Legally Fit « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

