Wardrobe Challenge- Day One

Good morning friends!  I didn’t sleep very well because I woke up in the middle of the night with a searing pain in my second toe.  It’s been kind of numb since I took up running but I never really paid it any mind.  Last night I was kind of messing with it to see where it hurt.  Well, that didn’t agree with me because I literally shot out of bed at 2:15 A.M. after being awakened from the pain.  After tylenol, icing, whimpering and generally feeling sorry for myself I was able to get back to sleep.   Surprisingly, I wasn’t tired this morning.  I’m thinking it was because I was so excited to start the month- long wardrobe challenge!  Before I get into that, a question for you guys- what weird, random injuries have you sustained from running?  I have had IT band issues but that’s pretty common. 

Today marks day one of wearing only ten items (excluding accessories, undergarments, workout clothes and pajamas) from my wardrobe.  My original list says a blue tank; I changed it to my yellow tank because I have more accessories that I can wear with it.  Today’s outfit:

Please excuse the glamourous setting.  The duds:

  • Black knit cardigan- J Crew (purchased in January 2008)
  • Black wool blend pencil skirt- Banana Republic (purchased in 2006)
  • Yellow ribbon edged tank- Banana Republic (purchased Spring 2010)
  • Black braided belt- Banana Republic (purchased in 2007)
  • Black peep-toe pumps- Nine West (purchased in 2006)
  • Silver heart necklace- Tiffany (gift from Bri- August 2008)

The cardigan and top make a lot of appearances in my daily wardrobe, but the same can’t be said for the other pieces.  I haven’t worn the Christian Loubotin knockoffs black pumps in probably two years.  Same goes with the belt.  So, already, the challenge is working.  I’m utilizing items in my wardrobe that I’ve forgotten that I had!  Who needs to go shopping… just look in your closet 😀 

I’m also pretty excited to still be wearing items that I purchased years ago.  I am a firm believer in quality over quantity- I would much rather have a classic item in my closet that I can wear for years versus some poorly made, trendy item from Charlotte Russe Forever 21 one of the teenybopper stores.

So, challenge is off to a good start.  It should be interesting to see how the rest of the week goes!  

On an unrelated note, the John Mayer concert was um, interesting.  Train opened and they were very energetic and fun.  John Mayer walked on stage and you could tell he was definitely on something.  The whole vibe of the concert was just off.  And yeah, he is so egotistical it’s almost maddening.  Coming off of great performances from Maroon 5 and OAR, I guess I was just expecting more.  He is an incredibly talented guitar player but I am not a fan of him live anymore.  He was SO different when I saw him play in Buffalo in 2007.  /endrant

Have a great Tuesday everyone.. catch ya on the flip!

21 Comments

Filed under What I'm wearing

21 responses to “Wardrobe Challenge- Day One

  1. John Mayer looked terrible on Sunday didn’t he? I wasn’t digging his headband. Hahaha. He looked high on something. At least his guitar playing was good! And he played “Clarity”, my favorite song! 😀

  2. Cool challenge! I definitely need to do this more often. I totally forget about stuff in my closet. I had a few friends that went to that concert, but they didn’t mention him acting off – I’ll have to ask them about it. I’ve never been a huge fan of him – like his music – him not so much.

  3. I kind of don’t get the whole John Mayer thing, I like some of his older music, but he seems a bit weird.

    Cute outfit, especiallly the shoes!!

  4. J

    That stinks about the John Mayer concert. I saw him two summers ago in 2008 and he was decent but I think recently he has really done off the deep end.

    Love the outfit!! I am trying to not buy any clothes for the month of August and I am doing good so far.

  5. Love the outfit! This is such a cool challenge, can’t wait what else you come up with!

  6. Nicole

    Love this wardrobe challenge – that’s a great idea, way to be!

    p.s. I told you I’d try to be a better blogger friend 🙂

  7. You look absolutely fabulous! I love that you are doing this challenge! There are a lot of teenybopper stores aren’t there?!

  8. Nicki

    Love the outfit. I just bought a black pencil skirt on clearance last week. I love your outfit. Can’t imagine being in those shoes, though.

  9. Julie

    Hi Katie,
    I love your outfit and totally agree with the quality over quantity! I have a few pencil skirts and love them too:) Did you get your haircut? Your hair looks fantastic…very stylish:) You need to pull together another cute outfit with the items sitting in your closet. Take care Katie!

  10. Oooh! I’m excited to follow your challenge!

    I’m pretty much over John Mayer.

  11. agreed quality over quantity is soooo true for the work wardrobe!

    Hmm I’ve had so many random things happen to my body from running it would be hard to pick just one. But luckily I’ve never lost a toenail, that one would just gross me out

  12. loooooove the shoes!!!!!

    hopefully the pain in ur toe goes away soon. that sucks that its keeping u up at nite!

  13. Nicole

    Hi Katie, Very classy and beautiful!!!!!

    As for John Mayer, SORRY to get him. Crazy!! Have a beautiful day chicka. 🙂

    Love Mom

  14. Well, aren’t you looking hot in your stilettos and outfit! Love it. Can’t wait to see what else you have in store this month.

Leave a Reply

