Distance Dreamers and Maroon 5 Photos!

Hi friends!  I hope the end of your weekend is shaping up nicely.  Mine has been pretty fantab.  Friday evening brought me to the Saratoga Winery for my stepsister’s bachelorette.   What an awesome place!  They opened up this past October and sell lovely New York State wines.  On Friday evenings they have a live band and wood-fired pizza.  If you’re local, I definitely suggest you check it out!

On Saturday I caught brunch with my friend Nicole and then headed to Borders to pick up the new Runner’s World magazine and a copy of Operation Beautiful, written by the lovely Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point.  

I’m about thirty pages in and it is definitely a must-read for all women out there.  Go pick up a copy!

Last night my training plan demanded a six-miler, so that’s what I did.  I completed it in about an hour and two minutes.  A little slower than I’d like but it was still a great run.  The weather was beautiful!  My hips felt super tight afterwards but that’s okay- I attended hot yoga this morning with Kristin, Jen, Courtney and Becca and got all loosened up!  It was Jen, Becca and Courtney’s first time practicing hot yoga and they rocked it.  I was super impressed!   Afterwards we headed to my fave coffee shop and chatted about blogging and whatnot.  It was nice to finally meet them in person!

Tonight I’m heading to John Mayer with Kristin and the ‘rents.  Gotta love it 🙂  I am all about the concerts lately.  Speaking of, here are some photos from the concert last week of Adam Levine, the lead singer of Maroon 5:

We were really, really close.  It was awesome!

So, you may have noticed the Distance Dreamers emblem on my sidebar.  Abbi over at Higher Miles started a wonderful support group for first time marathoners and half-marathoners (me!) to get together and commiserate about their experiences.  She recently posted a blog with a bunch of questions for us to answer.   Of course, I typed out a nice long response on her blog and then the internet ate it.  What better place to address them than here on the blog? 

What made you decide you wanted to run a long distance race?

When I first started training for a 5k last year, the distance of 3.1 miles seemed endless, almost insurmountable.  However, they say that the 5k is a gateway race and it truly is.  No sooner had I finished the race that I started plotting out my next one.  Brian convinced me that I could complete the Virginia is for Lovers 14k.  We ran it together and it was amazing.  Knowing that I could do 8.67 miles, I set my sights on a half-marathon. 
Why the full marathon or half as your distance of choice?

Ultimately, I think it would be amazing to run a full marathon.  However, as a new (just over a year) runner I don’t want to put too much pressure on my body too fast.  I grew up with significant ankle problems from spraining/breaking them while playing sports and started having IT Band issues after my first 5k.  So, we’ll see how I do with a half and go from there. 
Finally, why was this the year to go for it?

Why not, right?  I am in decent shape from training for the Boilermaker and hot yoga, and I have the time to devote to a training plan, especially with Brian serving in Afghanistan.  I’m excited to see where training takes me! 
Okay y’all, time to enjoy the rest of the weekend.  This week, I will be posting on:

  •  The Wardrobe Challenge– which has been pushed to Tuesday, since my dry cleaning was not ready on Friday, grrr
  • My review of Born to Run (awesomeeee)
  • A yumtastic cookie recipe that I snagged from Courtney to ship over to Brian in Afghanistan 🙂

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!  See you on Tuesday with my first wardrobe challenge outfit! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Distance Dreamers and Maroon 5 Photos!

  1. Have an awesome time at the concert tonight!!!

  2. Sounds like a wonderful weekend! Thanks for re-typing up your answers! I’m with you, after my first 5K, I was hooked and haven’t looked back. Have fun with your training…I think you are going to love the half!!

  3. Nicki

    Wonderful that you are heading to a concert. John Mayer is another of my favs. You would never know I truly like country music, would you?

    Thanks for the pics of Maroon 5. Now I am totally envious!

  4. Wine Tour and John Mayer… you lucky girl! Sounds like fun, and yay for the blogger meet up. I bet it was fun to finally meet some of the peeps you blog with. I wish all you fabulous bloggers lived closer to da’ ho! That would make for a super winetastic fun time! Love the OB book – it’s so inspiring!!

  5. I want to read Born to Run!! I have another one on my list first “Once a Runner” and I’m still trying to finish my current book. I wish I could be a speed reader like you!! Looks like a great weekend. I’m jealous about your bloggy meet-up. We need to coordinate one for us!! 🙂

  6. J

    I love John Mayer – I saw him two years ago and loved it! Hope the concert was good!

  7. Have fun at the concert tonight! Born to run was a Great book, definitely a must read for all runners! Can’t wait for your review!

Leave a Reply

