A Heartfelt Thank You, Random Factoids & A Delicious Breakfast

Hi friends 🙂  I could totally win the award for longest post titles ever, eh?  Speaking of “eh”, didja know that I’m a quarter Canadian?  My grandfather met my grandmother when he was stationed in Newfoundland with the airforce.  He swept her off her feet and brought her back to the capital district.  Eventually three of her 11 (I think?) siblings followed her and settled here too!  Anyway…

I want to convey my sincere thanks and gratitude for all of the wonderful, thoughtful comments on yesterday’s post.  I’m going to email you guys individually but I also wanted to put it out there into the blogworld.  I definitely forgot to include something on the list of things that are helping me get through the deployment- blogging and the wonderful community of bloggers that I’ve “met” and interact with.  Like I said yesterday, just getting it out helped.  Your sweet responses cheered me even further, and for that I am incredibly thankful.  So, thank you bloggies.  It means so much to me. 

I updated one of the blog pages to reflect certain quotes that have inspired me or made me smile.  Originally I was going to track my workouts on the blog but I was too lazy figured this page is a better reflection of where I’m at.  Do you have a favorite quote that you want to share? 

I’m feeling back to my normal self today.  Hot yoga last night was amazing, as per usual.  I swear, there is nothing like it.  It felt especially good on my tired legs.  I woke up early yesterday to get two miles in (per the half-mary training plan) and it was already wicked humid at 6:30 in the morning.  Ick.  I am so ready for fall- gorgeous leaves, pumpkin spice lattes, the scent of fireplaces in the cool air… bring it!   Typically I love August, as it’s my birthday month (shoutout to any Leos out there!) but notsomuch for running. 

So, today I had my typical breakfast with a bit of a spin on it.  As I noted last week, I always (almost always) have greek yogurt and granola for breakfast.  Looking in my fridge last night, I noticed that I still had half a cantaloupe leftover from the chilled cantaloupe soup I made the other night.  I remembered seeing another blogger (I think Ashley but I’m not sure) eat her morning yogurt in a cantaloupe “bowl” so I figured I’d give it a shot. 

I placed a container of Chobani strawberry-banana (any flavor would do) into the “bowl” and placed some granola on top.  This was awesome!  And, it kept me full for a half hour longer than normal.  Can’t beat that 😀  If you have some extra cantaloupe around, give this a whirl!

A few weeks ago, Jen tagged me in a post to list ten random facts about myself.  I remember doing something like this back on Fit to Wed, but that was a while ago.  So, here are some random facts:

1. I used to consider myself to be quite unadventurous, but recent events have led me the other way. Namely, I got certified to scuba dive (in the murky, freezing Lake George waters, no less) and went midnight tubing in the Hudson River in the Adirondacks. Yes, that’s tubing in a river in the pitch black; it was exhilarating yet terrifying. All of this from the girl who ran screaming out of the ocean because there were “sharks” (read: dolphins) while Kristin ran IN the ocean to play with them.

2. I have a tendency to trip quite a bit; as in, I’ll be walking down the sidewalk in flats and my ankle randomly gives out. I’m not uncoordinated, I swear! I think it’s because I have broken/sprained both ankles so many times that my ligaments have just given up on me.

3. I never drank coffee until second year of law school, when it became necessary to drink in order to stay awake. The only things that I really drink are coffee, water and red wine.

4. I have a true obsession with Tim Horton’s and Wegman’s, which are the two things that I miss the most about Buffalo. Tim Horton’s coffee is like crack. If either entity came to the Capital District, I would most likely die of happiness.

5. My favorite movie, among others, is The Wedding Singer. I think it’s the 80s music, because typically I’m not a chick flick kinda girl.

6. I can read ridiculously fast. I’ve been known to finish more than one book in a day. My dad probably spent thousands of dollars on books when I was growing up. Okay, at least a thousand. My stepmom donated my childhood/adolescent book collection to the library, which made me very sad. Probably my own fault for putting the books in the basement. Bring back the Sweet Valley High books!

7. I am in love with San Diego. You can’t get a better climate!

8.  I definitely have the travel bug.  I’ve been to England and Ireland and am planning a trip to Greece and Spain with some of my girlfriends, which should be awesome.  I love seeing different cultures, and how else would I be able to say that I’ve practiced Gaelic with an old Irishman at a pub?

9.  I have a port wine stain birthmark on my left leg.  I got teased a lot about it as a kid (kool-aid stain) and I really used to hate it.  I had about 10 laser surgeries on it to reduce the color of it when I was in middle school, but it is still definitely there.  However, it doesn’t bother me anymore and I actually grew to like and appreciate it.  I forget that it is there sometimes, until I’m reminded by someone’s comment.  The latest one that I can remember is from my mother-in-law’s co-worker that ran the mud run with us:

Him: Ow, what happened to your leg?

Me: Oh, it’s a birthmark. 

Him: Ohhhh..is that what kept you away from a modeling career?  (I think he was trying to give me a compliment). 

Me: *eyeroll* Yes, exactly. 

Don’t worry, he wasn’t looking at me when I rolled my eyes.  If he was I would have just smiled sweetly, haha. 

10.  I’ve recently developed a fascination with birds.  There is something so beautiful about them.  It probably makes me sound like a hippie but I don’t really care 😀  If you’re friends with me on facebook, you can see that a lot of the photos in my honeymoon albums are of the birds we encountered in Hawaii.  I love them! 

I tag some of my newer blog friends to come up with ten random facts about themselves:

I’m excited to learn more about you ladies!   Again, thank you so much for all of your support.  Have a great Thursday 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under hot yoga

10 responses to “A Heartfelt Thank You, Random Factoids & A Delicious Breakfast

  1. Hey girl! I hope you are doing ok. I love how supportive the blogging coMmunity is as well.

    So glad to hear you are finding peace in yoga. It does the same for me. Also, your list was great. I trip a lot too but it is because I really am clumsy!

  2. I love the wedding singer!! Lol – I haven’t thought about that movie in a long time! I think it’s so great to have the support of the blog community I know it has helped me in SO many ways and I feel as though if we lived closer we would totally hang out and drink wine together. 🙂

  3. J

    Thanks for tagging me!! can’t wait to post my ten things!! Glad you are feeling better today!

  4. I love the idea of having a page of quotes that inspire you and make you happy! I have a notebook that I collect quotes that I love.

  5. I wish I was a faster reader! My book list continues to grow, but I can never seem to speed up. And I read Sweet Valley High too!! I think I may have even had a the board game – if my memory serves me correct. My mom subscribed me to some book club when I was about 10 and those books were placed on our bookshelf in the basement as well. This actually makes me think I need to call my mom and ask what she did with all of those books – she may have donated them too. Ahh the similarities. 🙂

    Glad you are feeling better.

  6. Katie, I’m VERY excited about all the things you mentioned as well…including PUMPKIN SPICE LATTES!! I especially loved reading what you wrote about your birthmark! Did you know I also have some prominent birthmarks? One of which is on my left leg 🙂 I felt the same way you did! Here is to loving ourselves! The largest birthmark I had was on the left side of my neck and I hated how much you could see it when I had my hair in a ponytail. OK I could tell you A LOT about things I heard. Anyway, oddly enough that one faded away in the last 5 years…maybe all those face washes are not that good for you. Can’t figure out why else it has faded because the one on my leg has not. We’ll have to talk about it someday! xoxo

  7. Your post yesterday was really touching. Your a strong person Katie & I know you’ll get through it! Just keep running, blogging, doing your thing 🙂

    I also loveee San Diego (trying to move there!) and have been known to trip…a lot. Nope, there was no rock/crack in the sidewalk…I just tripped ok?! 😉

  8. Hi! Found your blog through distance dreamers and wanted to stop by and say WAY TO GO!! I don’t have my favorite quote book with me, but I’ll get it tomorrow and get back to you. I also can’t wait for pumpkin spice lattes, yummy!! And I read every single sweet valley high book…actually i think I saved them all “just in case I have a daughter someday”…so if you want to re-read, I can look for them:) Happy Friday!

  9. Oh my, I trip all the time too. Over nothing. The sad thing is, I think my son inherited my clumsy gene. He literally falls over NOTHING.

  10. Jackie @ carolina_vogue

    Whenever I go to Canada I love stopping at Tim Horton’s. So delicious!!

    I would love to see your pictures from Ireland – that’s where I want to go the most 🙂

Leave a Reply

