Chopped(!) & A Day of Eats

Hi!  How is everyone doing on this ridiculously hot and humid lovely Thursday?  Yesterday was great.  I started out fairly tired because I stayed up late reading The Help.  Then I kept myself up thinking about it.  Which repeated again last night.  The book is that good!  I’m about halfway through and I love it. 

Anyway, yesterday I dragged myself out of bed for a slooooow two mile run.  It was a beautiful morning; cool, slightly breezy, with the sun shining but not all up in your grill, know what I mean?  For whatever reason I just couldn’t get going.  I suppose I’m used to running in the afternoon but still, it was a little disconcerting.  I have a three-miler on tap today with my running buddy Melissa (not at our normal shady route, gulp) so I’m hoping it will go a little smoother. 

Then, I chopped 6-7 inches of hair after work.  I had been meaning to do so since the wedding (which was oh, four months ago) and just never got around to it. 

It’s a lot shorter but I like it.  Aside from the fact that it isn’t really wash and go- I’m going to have to start using a blow dryer again 😉  Do any of you have any product recommendations for short-ish hair- pomade/texture type stuff?  I’m not even really sure what I’m looking for- I’m a little out of my element. 

Last night brought hot yoga.  Our regular instructor was back.  Thank the high heavens.  He is British, and instructions coming from a British accent just sound easier.  Orrr it’s just in my head.  In any event, it was a fantastic class and I felt myself going deeper into the poses.  I even attempted toe stand for the first time in that class (I’ve tried it in Bikram once, but never in last night’s class- he is too strict!) 

So, this isn’t a food blog, but I wanted to share with you guys what I typically eat/drink on any given day.  Wednesdays are fun days because I always have sushi after yoga- I don’t get home until 9:30 so I need something quick and light.  So, here is what I take in on a typical Wednesday:

My day starts with a mug of coffee on my hour-long commute into work.  It makes the commute a lot more bearable.  I use organic half and half and either two teaspoons of REAL sugar or one tablespoon of agave nectar.  It varies depending on the type of coffee I make. 

Then it’s time for breakfast:

Raspberry chobani greek yogurt (my favorite flavor, although the flavor and brand varies based upon what is available) and a cup of organic granola (flavor varies as well, yesterday’s was maple brown sugar.  I usually eat this around 9:00 A.M.

Around 10:00 A.M. I am hungry again. 

Luna bar to the rescue!  My favorite flavor is chocolate peppermint stick.  Yum.  At this point I also take my fish oil tablet:

Then at 11 it’s lunch time!  Normally I’ll have leftovers if I’ve cooked but I was out of town this past weekend so it was one of my favorite Amy’s meals:

Margherita pizza!  Love this lunch.   All day long I’m guzzling water from this bottle:

My lululemon sigg I love running water bottle!  It’s 32 ounces and yesterday I had three of those plus 10 oz from my handheld during my run plus a bit from a fourth fill.  I typically drink at least 100 ounces a day 🙂  I also tried some coconut water yesterday during yoga (unphotographed), but I didn’t like the flavor (mango-peach) so I didn’t finish it. 

Around 1:30 it was snack time. 

Organic granny smith apple with a tablespoon of mighty mapes peanut butter.  Love that stuff!

Snack numero 2 was around 4:30:

 I had this amount times 2.  I love cashews.  They may be my favorite nut (TWSS!)

And then after yoga I had a delicious dinner:

A salad with Annie’s raspberry dressing, little bit of feta and some walnuts (sometimes I throw blueberries on there if I have them), edamame with a bit of salt and tempura shrimp sushi.  Deeee-ricious!

Lastly, before bed, I make sure to have some dark chocolate.  Oh yes.  Sometimes red wine accompanies it (okay, most times) but not last night. 

And that, my friends, is what I eat on any given day.  Probably more than you ever wanted to know about my eating habits.  I don’t count calories and I try to include fruits and veggies, but I’m a work in progress.  I almost feel like I’m constantly eating and I’m never hungry (except when it’s time to eat, of course :p )  What do you typically eat on any given day?

Enjoy the rest of your Thursday!

11 Comments

Filed under Food, hair, hot yoga, Running, Yoga

11 responses to “Chopped(!) & A Day of Eats

  1. I also eat CHOBANI every day! I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I forgot to put it in my lunch box yesterday and I was sad. Haha. 🙂

    We need to go running together sometime!

  2. LOVE YOUR NEW HAIR!! It always feels to good to chop it off! I bet it feels so light now! Fun! My daily eats definitely need some work. I am watching you all post a day of eats and always realize that I am not a food blogger because i haven’t quite found the right balance of everything yet. Some days I forget to eat meat and forget to eat more protein other days I eat too much cheese. Eck! I should probably pay more attention to what I am eating. But I liked that you documented it, it gives me ideas.

  3. Nicki

    I never have a typical day as far as food is concerned. Of course, I am cooking for a tribe most days so I eat what I want and may make myself something totally different.

    I love your hair cut!!!

  4. Your commute is an hour? I don’t know which direction you drive…but if you go past exit 10 let me know and we’ll have you over for dinner sometime.

    Love your haircut! It is so cute.

    • Thanks Suzy! Ugh, it’s always an hour on the way home, and fifty minutes to an hour on the way in. Gotta love the northway. I live near you! Dinner would be fabulous!

  5. Your hair looks beautiful! I love that picture of you! I think your food intake yesterday sounds like a great day of eats.

  6. Thanks for sharing your typical meals! I always like to get new ideas. I LOOOVE Amy’s pizzas. They’re the best.
    Ps. Love the hair too!!

  7. Love the new hair!! And nice water bottle … I have one that is very similar. 😉 It’s the only bottle that’s cute enough that I remember to bring it with me everywhere!

  8. Cute cut!

    I love food posts! I would eat all of what you had that day! I’m good about having a bunch of fruit in my morning smoothies, and for the rest of the day I’m all about leftovers in the fridge!

    have a great weekend!

  9. Lee

    Your hair looks great.

    I eat and egg sandwich (1/2 cup egg beaters, 1 arnold thin and 1 slice of cheese) pretty much every morning. At my old job, I found myself eating lunch at 12 pm and then a snack at 3. At this job, I’m eating a snack around 10:30 and then lunch at 1.

  10. Pingback: A Heartfelt Thank You, Random Factoids & A Delicious Breakfast «

Leave a Reply

