An Ode to Sweat

Happy Friday friends!  Do you have any fun weekend plans?  I’m heading to Pennsylvania to visit my dear friend Kristin for the evening and then heading to the mother in law’s tomorrow for the race on Sunday!  I can’t wait.  Originally my mother in law was supposed to run the race with me but she hasn’t been feeling well lately so she will now act as race photographer 😀  Speaking of race photography, I was super excited to see my race photos from the Boilermaker.  However, when I input my bib number the only photos that came up were that of the winner crossing the finish line.  Yeah, definitely not me haha.  Oh well! 

 You may or may not know this but I have a sliiight addiction to magazines.  The obsession started when I was around 11 or 12 years old, where a day when an issue of YM or Seventeen arriving in the mail was a good day indeed.  My current magazine must-reads include Runner’s World, Fitness, Health, Self, Shape, Yoga Journal and Glamour.  I have to say though, as I get more into fitness a lot of the article in the magazines seem like fluff.  What I used to take as gospel back in my younger days I now read with a critical eye and sometimes even scoff at.  Which brings me to the title of the post.  A certain magazine published an article reviewing the effectiveness of antiperspirants by how much they blocked sweat while engaging in a tough workout.  Certain antiperspirants received top remarks because the testers stayed completely dry during a spin class, a run or whatever fitness activity they engaged in.  This all had me confused- when on earth did sweat become a four letter word?

Before I go on, let me couch these statements with the fact that I am by no means a medical professional, nor have I researched into the function or purpose of sweat.  Instead, I offer these thoughts because it just seems like common sense to me.  Sweating provides an important function, right?  It is the body’s natural cooling system.  If you work up a sweat, you know that you are challenging and working your body because your internal temperature has risen, causing the release of sweat to cool you off.  Right? Right.  So why are these magazines (fitness magazines, mind you) all about finding product that keep you dry when you’re getting in tough workout?  It isn’t natural!  Suffice it to say that I no longer wear antiperspirant.  After doing a bit of research I settled upon Tom’s Natural Deodorant.  And guess what?  I don’t sweat during normal situations.  I still smell fabulous, if I do say so myself.  And if I work out, I sweat! 

Of course, I don’t want to sweat in normal, every day situations.  Certainly I don’t want to be out with friends, at a wedding or at a meeting for work sweating profusely.  That’s just awkward.  And gross.  But if I’m getting a good workout in, I love to sweat.  Sweat is a physical manifestation of the hard work you are putting in.  If I work out and don’t sweat, I feel like I didn’t really challenge myself.  Odd, really, that I feel this way, since I used to loathe getting sweaty during a workout.  

Maybe I’ve come to embrace sweat more because of all the hot yoga I’m doing.  This past Wednesday the class was so challenging and I sweat SO much that my fingers literally pruned like they do when you are in the shower for too long.  That is definitely an extreme case and something I’m not looking to repeat but after the class I definitely felt like I had an amazing workout.  I’ve been practicing hot yoga for a few months now and I swear, my skin has never looked better.  

What’s the old saying?  Horses sweat, men perspire and women glow?  Pssh.  Embrace the sweat.  It’s good for you.  I promise.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “An Ode to Sweat

  1. Nicki

    I read the same article. I was floored. I also cannot imagine anything helps my “glow” in the heat and humidity. Have safe travels and lots of fun this weekend!

  2. Jen

    I checked for my photos too!! The same thing happened to me. Then I searched the 6,000 some “lost and found” photos to see if I could see myself in any of them, and I didn’t. Blah! I really wanted one of myself crossing the finish line!!!

    • I really wanted a finish line pic too! I scoured through the finish photos that were around my time thinking I could find one. No dice. Next year! 😀

  3. I loved hearing your take on sweating, and I must say it makes sense to me! Have a wonderful weekend Katie!

  4. Lee

    I like a sweaty workout.

    I hear you on the exercise magazines. I used to read Shape, Self and Fitness religiously. Now they are all sort of boring to me and say the same thing issue after issue.

    This is sort embarrassing but I was in the airport the other day and was eyeing Redbook or Ladies Home Journal. I think I have become an old woman!

  5. Totally agree – I love the sweat! Good for your pores!

    Congrats on the Boilermaker by the way!! I just completed my first official race in a few years, and it feels GOOD!

    Julia
    http://www.britbride.com

    p.s. glad to see you are back to blogging!

  6. Ha ha, I love this post. I will be honest, I adore a sweaty workout because you leave feeling like all the toxins are out of you… Its an on top of the world feeling. Great post.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  7. Thanks girl! I agree, it definitely leaves you feeling like the toxins are leaving your body. Your blog is super awesome btw I’m excited to start reading 😀

  8. J

    My best friend and I would always try to NOT sweat in gym class! We would do everything possible to avoid it! And now that I am older, I seriously think I sweat more!! I never used to sweat like this when I played sports in high school! Maybe i just started working harder now???

  9. Pingback: More Than: Katie of Legally Fit « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

