A Year of Running

Hi friends!  Thank you for your sweet comments and insights on my last post.  You guys are the best!

Today is an exciting day for me 😀  One year ago I decided to start the Couch to 5k program after years of saying I would “get into running.”  I was never, ever a runner.  I played softball and volleyball in high school and always dreaded when we had to run laps.  In college, my cardio of choice (if I even worked out) was the elliptical machine at a nice, easy pace.  Runners seemed so dedicated, so out of my realm.  I would admire their dedication if I drove past them, but I never really thought I could actually become one.  I don’t really know what possessed me to finally start the Couch to 5k.  I had just started reading healthy living blogs around this time last year, so I think that had some sort of impact.  I made up my mind to just do the damn thing.  And I did.  It wasn’t easy, and I remember nearly passing out the second day of the program.  But, along with the discomfort, I felt a sense of pride.  A sense of productivity.  A sense of doing something healthy for my body.  This started to trickle into other areas of my life.  I began making healthier eating choices.  Running helped me to become a better me. 

I finished the 10 weeks of the couch to 5k and was elated.  I, previously the antithesis of a runner, could run for 35 minutes straight!  I truly believe that if I can become a runner, anyone can, so long as they put their heart into it.  Now, I can’t imagine my life without running.  Co-workers refer to me as the “runner of the office” (and I think they believe I’m a bit crazy, but that’s neither here nor there).   Since this past September, I’ve completed 4 5ks and a really fun Virginia is for Lovers 14k with my husband.  My best friend,
who emphatically told me that she HATED running, became inspired to start training for one after I finished my first 5k.  She completed the couch to 5k and rocked her first race.  It was freezing- we have photographic evidence:

I’ve logged 235 miles so far this year and plan on logging many, many more.  I’ll be running the Boilermaker 15k on July 11th and, a week later, running the Merrell Down and Dirty Mud Run in Philly!  After that I start training for my ultimate goal- a half marathon!  Yesterday I bit the bullet and finally registered for the Mohawk Hudson Half Marathon on 10/10/10!  To say I’m excited is an understatement.  I never could have dreamed one year ago today that running would play this big a part in my life.  But it does.  And I am so ecstatic about it. 

My first night run!

After the VIFL 14k:

Today, I’m celebrating running 😀 What do you have to celebrate today? 

12 Comments

Filed under Running

12 responses to “A Year of Running

  1. Lee

    It really just goes to show you that all you need to become a runner is dedication! Good luck on your upcoming half!

  2. I love how you pushed through something you initially hated, and it has changed your life incredibly, all the while you inspired others!

  3. Congrats on your runniversary! Isn’t it amazing to look back one year ago and see how much progress has been made? Keep up the good work and congrats on your half marathon! Wooo hoo!

  4. happy running anniversary!

  5. congrats on a great running year, and that’s exciting that you are doing a half marathon! Do I see a full in your future?????

    : )

  6. Truly impressive woman! Congrats to you on your first year of MANY as a runner. I can’t wait to run a race “with you” (although we may not find each other at the Boilermaker, but definitely after) – it’s exciting to know we’ll both be out there!! Great job and keep up the great runs. I have a friend running that half marathon and I may be there to cheer her (and you) on…but it will be the day after a bachelorette party for a friend, so who knows. 🙂

  7. Fab post Katie – it is amazing how running changes your life!

    Today I am celebrating sunshine, being healthy, love and togetherness! Life is good xxx

  8. Congrats on your first year of running! I hope you have many more wonderful, injury free years of running ahead of you.

  9. I’m commenting a little late here, but congrats on your running anniversary and good luck and happy training for your first half marathon! I just did my first half at the beginning of June and it was a great experience. I’m going to do another one in the fall. They are fun and rewarding, I think you’ll feel really accomplished after completing yours!

  10. Nicki

    Congrats on becoming a runner! I had a hard time calling myself one when I started, actually still do have a hard time.

Leave a Reply

