The Impact of Blogging (A Thank You)

New running shoes make me happy (Adidas Supernova Glide 2 for any runners out there). 

I had a whole post planned to write tonight, discussing some recent mishaps in the kitchen and the races I signed up for.  However, those topics will have to wait…

What makes you happy?

Today I had been struggling with feeling happy.  I am naturally a very happy person and I have so much to be thankful for.  Sometimes I think that I am blessed with so much that I don’t have a right to feel anything but happy, given all of the suffering that occurs throughout the world.  Still, I am human, and today was one of those days.  I was just feeling plain irritable.  Then I read Wendy’s wonderful blog and instantly cheered.  Her writing just has that impact.  Before I get into the feelings her post provoked, I have to give a little background on Wendy.  She is a beautiful, amazing woman and mother.  We went to the same high school but she was a few years ahead so we never really connected.  Facebook eventually led me to her blog, and I am incredibly glad that it did.   We had been conversing via blogland when I found out Bri was going to be deployed. After I posted about the news, she wrote a beautiful, moving post that brought me to tears.   Tears of gratitude, tears of hope.   To put it simply, she is a wonderful person. 

Today she wrote about the core of happiness and how oftentimes it is a choice that we make.  She shared some inspiring quotes that really made me think.  I smiled reading the post.  I decided I was going to find happiness in unexpected places.   Just be happy.  It’s funny, sometimes just deciding that you are going to be happy can lift your spirits.  And I did.  I went for a run after work, which always brings me joy (at least it does afterwards 😉 )  I saw three dogs together on a walk that were so excited, they were doing the booty shake, where their entire back body sways back and forth because they are so ecstatic.  It brought a smile to my face.  I made a delicious, homemade pizza and savored the fresh ingredients.  I am drinking a glass of red wine.  I get to talk with my husband on Skype soon.  I get to read an amazing, thought-provoking book (The Kite Runner).   Quite simply, life is good.  

To Wendy, and to everyone else out there that I converse with via blogworld, thank you for inspiring me on a daily basis.  

What little things are you taking the time to appreciate today?

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “The Impact of Blogging (A Thank You)

  1. I appreciate my blog friends too!

  2. When I started blogging, I never expected to make friends from it. It’s been a pleasant surprise.

    I know what you mean about having those off days, but it’s great when you can find the little moments that make you smile.

  3. I know – I already feel like I know some bloggers as friends (YOU INCLUDED!).

    Great post!

    I had a hard day too with my operation and a hard day at work, but I am happy that the op went well (and hopeful the results will be fine), happy that I had fries as a treat afterwards, happy that I got through the brunt of my tough assignment, and happy that my freelance work is slowly taking off.

    Am also happy that my future hubby and I are together and are moving closer (albeit VERY SLOWLY) to saving for a house deposit.

    And the sun is shining today!

    I will also check out Wendy’s blog.

    Julia
    http://www.britbride.com

    • I am so glad that your op went well too! We are saving for a down payment as well- slow but steady! 🙂 I think of you as my British counterpart, haha

  4. Love this post! I have to remind myself how good things are. I get bummed that we haven’t been able to move back home and closer to our families. I have to tell myself all the good stuff I’ve got – health, husband, a job, etc. to keep that present in my mind. It’s tough sometimes.

    P.S. – love the doggie butt shake!! So cute 🙂

    • There is nothing like happy pets! It must get frustrating to not be able to be where you want at this point in time but it will come. You definitely have the right outlook!

  5. Aww Katie :*-) Thank you so much! You seriously are the sweetest person and I am so grateful we connected! Thank you really isn’t big enough for how I feel! You are amazing and we will get through this tough time TOGETHER one little happy moment at a time 🙂 You are a constant inspiration and source of motivation to me – a perfect example of how what you put out there comes right back to you.
    Much Love! ♥

  6. Wow – these are just the words I needed to hear. I too feel as though I have found such great friends and inspiration through the blog world. I am glad to read this post and feel happy about life’s transitions. Though some things in life are hard, it’s best to see the posatives. I am working through that right now. Thank you for this beautiful reminder!

  7. new running shoes make me happy too! I just ordered a new pair and can’t wait. Oh and my little glass of red wine with supper makes me happy. So warm and fuzzy inside. yea! Have a great run in the new shoes.

  8. Great post. I am a big fan of Wendy’s blog too. She always makes me smile. 🙂 So great to hear you two have connected in such a powerful way. To blogging!!! (holding mug of coffee u for a cyber-toast).

Leave a Reply

