Race Schedule!

Hi everyone! It’s been quite some time. Things have been sooo hectic lately! I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that I’m getting married in oh, seventeen days πŸ™‚ There are tons of last minute deets to work out. This past weekend my mother and sister in law threw me a bachelorette/shower in Philly. My matron of honor and one of my bridesmaids came and it was super fun. Oh annnd I’m marrying the greatest guy ever. When he realized my mom couldn’t come to my shower in my hometown because of weather, he secretly arranged to fly her in (from California) for the shower this past weekend. I was very shocked when she walked in the door, to say the least! She left her house at 2 AM on Saturday morning to get to the airport and fly into Philly. Thanks so much for coming mom! πŸ™‚

The bachelorette party was hilarious. My mom was like the paparazzi. When she emails me the photos I’ll post some- there is nothing too crazy… right, Kristin? πŸ˜‰ There was a bit of drams at one point but Christina (my matron of honor) handled it like a champ. She rocks!

When I got back on Sunday night, I immediately drove to my co-workers house. She and her family are in Florida for the week so I am house/petsitting her golden retriever for her. Her internet connection isn’t working so I don’t have any time in the evening to blog/upload photos. So that, coupled with the fact that I have been running around like a chicken with my head cut off, has led to my lack of blogging. Once I get home this weekend I will be back to posting and commenting πŸ™‚
Before I get into my race schedule, I have to talk about my favorite gift of the weekend:

Don’t get me wrong, Bri and I got sooo many amazing gifts. However, I was ecstatic when I opened this one up. After seeing some of my bloggers post their amazing juice concoctions, I knew I had to get one. Do you juice? If so, have any recipes for me? πŸ™‚

Okay, enough randomness from me- onto the race schedule! In the past I had mentioned partaking in a triathlon this summer. After thinking about it, I decided that I’m not ready for that yet. I would like to focus on my running and get into half marathon shape! So, here is the plan:

May 14-15- Ragnar Relay! I haven’t been assigned my legs yet, but I’m hoping it’s nothing too crazy. There are a TON of hills on the course. I’ve never really hill trained so I need to get on it!

June 5- Freihofer’s Run for Women 5k– I’m hoping that at this race I will be able achieve my goal of a sub 30 5k!

July 15- Boilermaker 15k- I’ve heard that this race is super fun, and I know some fellow bloggies have mentioned that they ran it in the past. If you’re planning on running this, let me know! We can meet up afterwards πŸ™‚

And lastly, the big one, which Molly of I’m a Sleeper Baker clued me in on:
The Mohawk Hudson River Marine Corps Half Marathon on 10/10/10! I didn’t even know that there was a half marathon in my hometown around the time that I was looking to run one- this works out perfectly!

I am very excited for all of the upcoming races. I am going to continue my weekly workout schedule until the wedding (run 3x week, body sculpt class, jillian michaels circuit workout, yoga) and then start training for the 15k (I will likely follow the same training plan as my 14k) mid-April. I will throw hill workouts in there for Ragnar and speed workouts for the 5k. Then, once the 15k is over, I will transition into full on half marathon training. I am excited! What is everyone else’s race schedule like?

One last thing… even though Jillian sold out (sooo disappointing) I still have to admit that she is hardcore. Or maybe I’m a sucker, because as soon as her new yoga dvd came out I wanted it! My mom ordered it for me (yay!) and I am anxious to try it this week. I’ll let you know how it goes. Have a great rest of the week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

