Some News

“Hey, Katie, are you in there?” The receptionist’s voice came through on my office phone.
I didn’t think much of it. One of the main components of my job is to answer legal inquiries from our members.
“Yeah, I’m here. What’s up?”
“It’s Brian.”
“Ohh, okay, put him through, thanks”. He must be calling to see how the work shower went, I thought, smiling to myself.
“Hey honey, how’s it going?!”. My standard greeting for him.
“It’s going, how was the shower?”
I chatted on excitedly about how great it was, how fantastic my co-workers are.
“I even got a red velvet cake in the shape of an engagement ring!!”. Red velvet is my favorite cake.
“So”, he says, “are you ready for this one?” He sounded anxious. My heart dropped. I sat back in my chair, gripping my desk. I knew. We’ve been waiting to hear.
“Yeah”, I said nervously, “what’s up?”
“I got my orders. I leave in April. 365 days. Afghanistan”.

Approximately 30 days after becoming husband and wife, my new husband will be traveling halfway across the world, to a hostile country, for over a year. Thousands of brave soldiers do this each year, and we go about our daily lives, appreciating it but not necessarily feeling the impact. Until it hits home. And it sits pretty heavy.

1 Comment

Filed under Military Life

One response to “Some News

  1. Pingback: Twenty-eight «

Leave a Reply

