A Chilly 4.5 and Bridesmaid Dresses!

Happy Saturday evening everyone! My Saturday has been surprisingly productive. Earlier this morning I met with Christina, my matron of honor, for coffee and breakfast. I ordered my caramel brulee latte at Starbucks and the barista looked at me strangely and said “they’ll be back next Christmas.” Dude, if that’s the case, why does the sign still say enjoy our holiday lattes?! Grr. I settled on a caramel macchiato, but not without pouting.

After grabbing coffee we headed to Bruegger’s Bagels for brekkie. I got one of my favorite indulgences: the cinnamon sugar bagel with maple cream cheese. Heaven in bagel form.


It was so bright in there that Christina had to rock her shades indoors, celeb style:

Isn’t she cute?
We then went to pick up her bridesmaid dress! Can I just say that the prom dresses out this season are fugtastic? Holy bedazzling batman. Yick.
Back in my early days of blogging I wrote about how I was torn on my color scheme. I had originally settled on navy dresses with dark pink flowers as an accent color. This got thrown to the wind after seeing this champagne and light pink scheme on the knot. I am so glad I changed the colors; the dresses are fabulous!
The official color of the dress is “latte”.

Excuse the wrinkles dress, the lovely (dripping with sarcasm here) dress shop takes really good care of the dresses. They have a sweetheart neckline and an almost trumpet-like skirt on the bottom.

I love the ruching on the dress!


What are your thoughts on the dress? If you are married, what was your color scheme? If not, do you already (secretly) have one picked out?

While I was at the ‘bucks I noticed a new Kind bar at the register and, being a bar sucker, clearly purchased it. I have to say that I am a huge fan of Kind bars. They have a short ingredient list and are generally very delicious. Today’s purchase (mango macadamia) was no exception! You can’t really go wrong with mangoes and macadamia nuts. I could eat an entire jar of macadamia nuts if left to my own devices.


So fruity and delicious! I fueled up on half of the bar before my 4.5 mile run. Yesterday the temperature was predicted to be 0, so I was going to do it at the gym. However, today was practically a heat wave- 20 degrees and sunny! I put on all of my winter gear and got to it. The first few miles felt amazing, which I was happy about. I ran three on the track at the gym yesterday and my legs felt like lead. I did encounter some technical difficulties on today’s run at first because I pushed the lap button on the garmin (hereinafter garmie) instead of the start stop. Oops. I went back and ran the distance so I could know what I had covered.
I encountered some issues with my knee about 2.5 miles into the run. In the past my IT band has acted up so I was fairly concerned, but it was only a minor twinging and I was able to continue running after a few stretching stops. Yippee! I then came home and foam rolled my IT bands into oblivion. Hurts so good.
The only thing left on tap for this weekend is to prep for my upcoming seminars next week. Eek! I’ve done them before but I like to have my presentation absolutely memorized, which is difficult when it’s 2.5 hours.
Anyone else run in the artic temps today? Any fun plans for the rest of the weekend?
Have a great night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Running, Wedding Planning

Leave a Reply

